meal planning in keeping it postive

  • Aug. 31, 2014, 4:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve been watching a lot of public broadcasting… you can get good ideas from those shows.

There have been two different doctors on lately with “non-diet” meal planning. I am going to try to incorporate them into my daily activities.

I am already almost a complete vegetarian - I eat chicken and fish - perhaps once or twice a week. So cutting them out completely is not difficult. It will be more difficult to cut out dairy - milk, cheese, yogurt - and wheat - flour - BREAD!!! Oh, no. I already try to eat rice pasta, so that’s not a problem.

I live fairly near two regular local supermarkets and about a mile from a super supermarket. It has a whole refrigerator room! Their produce is SO fresh. I guess I can walk there and back daily - make it my exercise for the day - and buy what I’ll need for that day. Granted I won’t need to buy an entire head of garlic every day, nor an entire ginger root every day. Those, and the fresh herbs I can buy weekly or as needed.

I already eat a lot of beans, so making sure I have them daily is not a problem. I figure I can make a soup/stew daily, and steamed veggies daily, and a salad daily.

I can have a grain - kasha, barley, brown rice - for breakfast with whatever is left over from either/both of the veggie dishes from the day before.

It’s a plan… sticking with it… that’s another thing. If the weather gets bad, walking to Fairway - the major supermarket - would be out of the question - it’s too far, and near the river, so wind/rain/cold would make it difficult. Now.. to make it a habit… eek.


Deleted user August 31, 2014

I was watching a show on cable called Food Stamped about eating healthy on a dollar a meal.

Darcy0207 from OD Deleted user ⋅ August 31, 2014

I have to search for that one. Money is not an issue for me, and I know that skipping animal protein saves a lot, but some veggies can be expensive. And I plan on trying out fresh herbs - those can add up also.
Thanks for the suggestion.

Ragdolls August 31, 2014

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.