Epic Week Continued in Diary

  • Aug. 31, 2014, 7:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Medical Testing
On Wednesday I went over to Nottingham for a medical testing screening day. It took hours and they did EVERYTHING. Height, weight, blood test, urine test, ECG, blood pressure, lung capacity, look into my eyes, look down my throat, listen to my chest when I breathe, poking, prodding and a million lifestyle questions. They will be testing a new asthma inhaler and need people with healthy lungs to start with. It’s been tested on humans before and expected side effects are very minimal so it shouldn’t be too bad. I’m just waiting to see if I get chosen now. If I do, I’ll have to stay for five sets of two nights and will get paid £1,550 for it so I hope I get chosen, it’ll keep me going for over a month while I’m building up my business.



Business Set Up
Speaking of which, I’m struggling quite a bit for customers. So far I’ve given out over 1,000 leaflets including 700 through doors and others being left in vets, as well as pushing my website on Google and my Facebook page, but I haven’t had any new customers yet. I have noticed, however, on Google Analytics that there is a spike in people looking at my website on the days that I’ve been door to door leafleting, so it’s prompting people to at least have a look. Hopefully they’re keeping the leaflet for the future. The lady who I’ve house sat before has booked me in for a couple of sessions, I still have Roxy who I walk every day and the cat that I visit twice a week, but all that only adds up to a maximum of £200 a month so I need a lot more than that!


Roller Derby
On Wednesday I had another go at my Safe to Skate test. I can’t believe they passed me on everything, including transitions which I’ve been really struggling with. Then came 23 laps in five minutes. The most I’ve ever done before is 21.75. How many did I do? Well one other girl got in my way on the last bend and I couldn’t get past her so I did about 22.8 laps…! One more stride or two more seconds on the clock, or not getting stuck behind someone and I would have done it! But now, for the sake of 10ft of track, I have another eight weeks of skating as freshmeat and can’t start scrimming with the others. Dammit! :o(


Other Stuff
Amy finished work on Friday and she’s on holiday next week, which is my last week, so I’m never going to see her again! Sorry to disappoint those of you who were enjoying my Amy stories, but there won’t be any more of those now ;o) She gave me a hug on the way out and said we would catch up on Facebook. That’s a blatant lie, she has me on restricted view so the only things I can see are when she changes her profile photo and cover photo, lol. Water under the bridge now!

Yesterday we drove over to Rich and Jess’ new house in Gaddesby just outside of Leicester. Oh my god it’s a beautiful house. It’s enormous with four bedrooms and a giant garden, and there are only the two of them and they’re not planning on having any children, so they have all that room to themselves! It’s in the countryside which is great because it’s so quiet, properly dark at night so you can see stars and they had bats flying around the garden. Apparently it cost three times as much as our house so Rich must be doing well for himself! All my old friends from Loughborough were there and it was great to catch up with everyone. As usual, they all said they would come over and visit us soon, but they’ve all been saying that for three years since I moved out of Loughborough so I won’t hold my breath. I can’t believe it’s been 10 years this month since I first moved to Loughborough and I’ve been friends with them all for that long!

So tomorrow is my last Monday at PRG, eek!



5 working days remaining!


Last updated September 08, 2014


Babe In Toyland August 31, 2014

Rich and Jess' house sounds wonderful!

~Twinkle~ August 31, 2014

Last week yay! Xx

Deleted user August 31, 2014

Here's hoping your business picks up!

Camdengirl August 31, 2014

Aw no more Amy? ; (

Probably the customer thing is seasonal... You'll pick up people during the summer when they are on holiday and perhaps when school goes back too, as people aren't home with the kids. Fret not!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.