Sunday - 31.08.14 in Your Face

  • Aug. 31, 2014, 7:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I went to SpecSavers today to order a new pair of reading glasses. As their ads said, it was cheaper to order two new pairs. I picked two really cheap frames, opted to pay extra for the anti-glare film on them, because it is a godsend when I spend so much time on computers. I was sad to part with the money, but I desperately needed them, my last new pair was in 2006 and I have, thankfully, never broken or lost them. I can pick them up in seven to ten days.

I visited my school friend in the hospital near my house. She is recovering well after her knee re-construction, and we chatted solidly for 45 minutes before she was pressed to take some medication that makes her sleepy. She is very nice, but I felt slightly awkward when she told me about how she wasn’t able to go horse riding (which she loves) because she was too over-weight. And then when the nurse came to take her blood pressure, they had to get a bigger cuff, which was marked in huge letters “LARGE SIZE”. I mean, she’s clearly overweight, but not really by comparison to a lot of people getting around these days. I guess people just got bigger and I am slow to notice.

I had dinner at my brother’s house. He cooks a delicious roast, and tonight it was pork. I made lots of jokes with my sister, which was nice.

My Heslop has, yet again, offered to be my hero. He has a LOT of money in the bank, that he has saved by being careful with his money over the years. He wants to lend me any money I need when it comes time to move, and I can pay him back slowly when I have the money. I want to cry, because I just feel so loved. It’s more than money - this is my best friend offering everything he has, that he has worked hard for, if it will just make me happy. Who does that? I am hopeful that I won’t need to ask him. I have the funds raised in my GoFund me sitting in the account, and I am able to put aside some money each week that I do this temp work, after living expenses. I have some debts to pay when I sell my car, and I should then have enough money for my flights, to buy a cheap suitcase, and have a few bucks in my pocket for the trip.

It’s a real shame when things don’t go as planned, but things go awry for me so often, I shouldn’t be surprised any more.

Tomorrow is Monday, and I am working. Someone will come and look at my car after work, and then I am racing over to an old work colleague’s house. She does cheap beauty treatments from home after finishing beauty school, so I can get a super cheap eyebrow wax from her. I rarely get them done, because I get big, inflamed eyebrows afterwards that take a day or two to subside. As a consequence, I have shapeless eyebrows, and the beauticians always tell me I’m a dream, because I just let them do whatever they think is best as far as shape, and they basically have a blank canvass to work on. I tell you, I will feel so beautiful after they have been done. Every time, I vow to keep up with them, but a beauty routine has never been my thing. And that was fine, for many years, but I am now starting to age.

The most important thing about Monday, however, is that the mailman comes on weekdays. Gosh, I hope I get my letter this week.


MTC August 31, 2014

Amazing re Heslop!!
Also, my eyebrows did the same thing until my old beauty therapist told me to take an antihistamine a few hours before hand - the ones for itchy hives as well as hayfever symptoms. Works for me!

AlexYourAlterEgo MTC ⋅ September 01, 2014

Great tip! I will have to try that.

AlexYourAlterEgo MTC ⋅ September 01, 2014

Great tip! I will have to try that.

Deleted user September 02, 2014

I used to have a full thick fringe - that came down just below my eyebrows - that was the best - but it didn't really make much difference - no one could see my eyebrows anyway. ...

Sometimes if they have the waxtoo hot its really bad.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.