Three years. in A small but passable life.

  • Dec. 3, 2023, 7:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Three years ago today I got the call from the stroke center that informed me that Mom had died. She had survived the emergency surgery (the surgeon had called me at 2am to tell me the blockage had been unremovable), but had never woken up.

She died alone later that day.

I still haven’t moved into the trailer. I’m still living in the shed. I only go in there to fix and eat meals and to use the bathroom. And to keep it tidy and clean.

And at least once a day I apologize to her, out loud, for something I’ve remembered I should apologize for.

How many times while trying to get her to understand the dangers of Covid-19 did I tell her she can’t get sick, that if she ended up in the hospital she’d have no visitors and if shit went south she’d likely die alone because the hospitals are locked down?

She died alone because the hospital (the stroke center) was locked down.

Now she’s resting with her daughter’s ashes on her granddaughter’s bookshelf until they’re interred.

Sorry Mom.

I love you.


Neogy Titwhistle December 03, 2023

Some fucking moron just left a private note. The cowardly dumbasses usually use the private option.-

"She died of a serious health issue that sounds like it had been there for a while and you're blaming a flu? You sheep are crazy."

I replied: "Do you know how to read? She had a stroke that killed her. The hospital was locked down. Three years ago. If you do know how to read then you must be just plain stupid. I didn't blame anything but what it was."

Were there always this many stupid people in the world or is this new?

woman in the moon December 03, 2023

There are more stupid people than there used to be. And even worse they feel they can and actually need to tell us how stupid they are.

You wrote a very nice tribute to your mother, whom you were very close to and whom you took very good care of. You do not deserve snarky stupid notes.

Your mother understands. And she still loves you.

Emily December 03, 2023

Sorry it went down like that. I'm sure she knew you would have been there if you could.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.