august 30 in twenty-eight

  • Aug. 31, 2014, 1:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

G’s second birthday party was today, although technically his birthday isn’t until the end of September. It’s just how it worked out with family in town.

We also have C’s sister and her two kids staying at the house with us. Good grief…three kids screaming in unison is more than I can take sometimes, and I am really good about tuning kids out. I really think G needs a sibling because he has a really hard time sharing right now. And I know that he’s a toddler and it’s what toddlers do, but I think there is a reason most only children are spoiled rotten and I’d think it would be a shame if he was.

He got a ton of stuff we don’t have room for.

I wish I had been asked to be more included. Especially when they started opening gifts and I wasn’t even in the room (I was told after he had started opening them, but I would like to have been there and been involved with the whole thing. I felt like I was left out of that and I didn’t know how to say I wanted to be a bigger part of it, so I just helped being the gifts over and sat on the side. I should have said something). Honestly, to me it felt like my house was being used to throw a birthday party, not that WE were throwing a party for G together. I spent the whole time running around and cleaning up and making sure we had enough food and trying to make sure everyone in my family was able to talk to me if they wanted.

But maybe that’s what parents deal with, too…I’m probably just too sensitive over nothing. I’m like that.


Last updated August 31, 2014


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.