laughing yoga in keeping it postive

  • Aug. 30, 2014, 5:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

http://laughteryoga.org/english

I figured out how to get downtown by bus. Actually two buses. I waited for a long time for the first bus. There was a lady there waiting also - she had an empty shopping cart - they reads as “going to the food pantry” in my mind. (She was also waiting for the bus to return home at the same time I was… I was right.)

On the second bus, I started to talk with a Chinese woman (from Hong Kong) who goes to visit her 93 y/o mother every day at the nursing home - and brings her food… She mentioned that there is a laughing yoga instructor who gives lessons at the nursing home. (I got to speak with this lady who was another “student” in the group I went to.)

I got to the place on time. There were total about 10 people there by the time it was over. It was MUCH more enjoyable than when I’d first done it in NYC - Central Park. I am thinking it may be, in part, the smaller group. We did various activities in order to generate laughter.

I realized that one woman - the one whose laughter seemed the most genuine - was of the Garifuna people (http://www.wisegeek.com/who-are-the-garifuna-people.htm#didyouknowout). When I asked her after the activity was over, she said she was, and was astonished that I was able to recognize it. I’ve had some Garifuna students - one of my favorites, in fact. We kept talking and exchanged phone numbers. She drove me to Trader Joe’s. We’ll get in touch the next time I’m in SD.

Before entering TJ’s, I needed to eat. I saw a Middle Eastern restaurant, and ate there. There was so MUCH I wanted, I ended up buying two entrees - Fatoosh (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fattoush) and Foul (stewed beans). I took most of the salad home - so that’s dinner. (My short term, ex-husband, was Lebanese and was a great cook - actually better than this restaurant - he would finely chop up the foods to go into the salad.)

Ah, Trader Joe’s. I found various items - enough for the next week or so. Then two buses back home. Home by 2 p.m. thinking my day is DONE!


raeven August 30, 2014

OK, I had to look that up.. and I think I'm going to force myself to attend one after my surgery. It is sooo NOT LIKE ME to be into something like this, but it's just so out of my comfort zone and focused on positive that I think it will be good for me.

Darcy0207 from OD raeven ⋅ August 30, 2014

It's outside my comfort zone also. Actually - leaving the house is outside my comfort zone sometimes.
For what it's worth - try different "leaders"/groups, etc. I didn't care for it the first time I went. This time I liked it a lot more.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.