Seized in Going public

  • Nov. 24, 2023, 7:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, I had a pretty bad Thanksgiving.

I was supposed to hang out with AC on Wednesday night but he bailed on me pretty last minute, which is extremely disrespectful and annoying. It set me in a bad mood, and I felt like the vibes were off and that I wouldn’t be surprised if I never saw him again.

I went to bed Wednesday night and everything else was normal.

Around 4am Thursday morning I woke up drenched in sweat, and there was vomit everywhere. Vomit on me, the bed, the walls (projectile), the floor. I also quickly realized I was post-ictal, meaning I had had a seizure. My tongue was all bitten up, my face had a scratch, and my neck/back felt badly tweaked. I couldn’t remember what day it was, and I thought I was in my old apartment. I also couldn’t remember anything about the previous night. It’s a weird feeling, to not have all your mental faculties.

I started washing my bedding and took a shower, and mentally things started coming back to me. I got the blanket from my couch and laid in my bare bed for a few hours, still throwing up occasionally, but not sleeping. Then it started to hit me that I was having urinary pain. Of course, my body would curse me with a UTI in that moment. I did some googling and everywhere was closed except for the ER. I called the ER near me and asked about wait times, and they said there was no one waiting. I decided I should head there to get the UTI checked out sooner rather than later, as I didn’t want to suffer all day and I didn’t want to delay going and risk the ER getting very busy.

I drove myself to the ER and got checked in, into a bed, and then seen by a doctor pretty quickly. I told them I was there for a UTI, but that I had also likely had a seizure that morning. Of course they wanted to scan my head and consult with neuro. So I had a CT scan, and they gave me fluids and Zofran. The CT scan was clear, and they said I didn’t have a UTI either. The urinary pain started to go away once I got more hydrated, so I’m not sure what that was really about. The neurologist on call sent me off with a prescription for Keprra, to take until I can follow up with my neuro. I’ve never taken that med before, but apparently it is quicker acting than the seizure med I had been on in the past. It sucked because there is exactly one pharmacy in my area that is open 24/7 and on holidays, and it was about a 30 min drive. I was absolutely wiped out by the day’s events, and tired from the Zofran, but I got my prescription and made it home for a nap.

AC came over after I awoke from my nap. He was avoiding his in-laws at his house, and I didn’t mind his company. One of my other friends was really concerned about me too - and she brought over some cookies while I was napping. Anyway, AC was very sweet. He brought over green bean casserole, which I learned I do not like (I had never tried it before). It was also hard for me to eat anything yesterday due to the injuries to my tongue. Anyway, AC and I watched TV for a few hours, and then around 7pm I was absolutely wiped out and decided I needed to sleep. He walked me up to my bed, tucked me in, and said he’d do some tidying up at my place before leaving. He ran my dishwasher, took out some recycling, and straightened everything up. I don’t know what the future holds with that dude, but I appreciate his kindness.

I ended up sleeping for something like 14 hours. My whole body is so so sore today. I feel sore all over, like I had the hardest workout of my life. I don’t even understand how a seizure could make me so sore, because I do heavy weightlifting 3x/week and do not get sore really at all from that!

My neuro’s office is closed today so I can’t make an appointment yet, so I guess that’ll be a task for Monday. I’m disappointed that all this happened and that I will have to go back on seizure meds and have this be A Thing in my life again. They will probably tell me not to drive for awhile, but I don’t understand how I can do that. I’m a single person, and I get violently car sick when I ride as a passenger.

Well, I guess that’s the update. I’m seeing a friend today to celebrate my promotion so hopefully that will take my mind off things a bit.


Loading comments...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.