It looks as though my migraines were partly caused by medication in The View from the Terrace

  • Aug. 30, 2014, 7:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m not writing entries here nearly as much as I would like to. It’s partly that my concentration is often really bad from withdrawing from the tranquilizers I’m finding writing more difficult. On the plus side I’m getting less migraines and it’s beginning to look as if a lot of them were actually being caused by the tranquilizers. I feel happy that I may be facing a future with less migraines and better health once I am off them, but also angry that they may be responsible for ruining so much of my past life.

I was originally prescribed them for anxiety although, in retrospect I realised that the drugs I had been prescribed for the migraines at that time were causing a lot of my problems. I was taking too many of them because the dosage hadn’t been properly explained and by the time this was realised I was on the tranquillisers. Once I had reduced the migraine meds I was a lot better but I thought the tranquilizers were helping the migraines so asked to stay on them. I can now see that I had become tolerant to them and many of the migraines were actually caused by my body wanting the next dose. Then I would take one and feel better so I thought they were helping.

Of course I have several other triggers for my migraines, most are avoidable like alcohol, I daren’t touch even a drop in a pudding. The main one used to be my hormones but that has resolved a lot as I have grown older.

Right now I am getting some nasty withdrawal symptoms. I get a pressure in my chest and my head which will come on and off during the day but really builds before the next dose is due. This is really causing me to lose my faith in doctors. If they didn’t know this could happen when I was first prescribed them then what don’t they know about drugs they are prescribing now?

I am managing to keep positive and enjoy the summer. We spent our usual weekend in Shropshire a couple of weeks back for the Shrewsbury Flower Show and we are looking forward to a week in Yorkshire in September.


Last updated May 26, 2018


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.