august 27 in twenty-eight

Revised: 08/29/2014 8:55 a.m.

  • Aug. 27, 2014, midnight
  • |
  • Public

The tutoring job went very well! The student is a 10th grader and doesn’t consider herself to be “good” at math, but she was understanding the things we went through. I think the problem with a lot of students, especially girls, is that they just THINK they don’t get it when they really do, or at least they aren’t as lost as they think they are. They don’t believe that they’re smart enough. It’s a self-fulfilling prophesy, I suppose.

So we’ve scheduled a recurring appointment on Tuesday nights, and right now I take home $36 per session. After a few weeks that should increase to $39 per session.

I’m also looking into other tutoring opportunities, all algebra II (it’s so easy to tutor, and tutoring a lot of students in the same subject is easier than several students in several subjects, so why not?). If I can get 3 or 4 students for an hour to an hour and a half a week, I could make anywhere from $400 to $600 a month, which would be some nice extra income. Of course that’s before taxes, so I’d set aside a third of it to pay for taxes in April, but still it’s a good chunk of change.

I could never tutor full time, though. I’m very happy I didn’t decide to pursue teaching, since I’m sure I’d burn out and lose patience very quickly.


Last updated August 29, 2014


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.