Epic week is epic in Diary

  • Aug. 30, 2014, 8:01 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Oh my word, I love Prosebox! I had typed loads and accidentally closed the tab. I thought I’d lost my entry but it was still there when I reopened the tab :o)

I have a lot to catch up on in the last week, please bear with me for a giant entry.

Last Friday I made the 200 mile journey up to Cumbria to visit my family. Most of the journey was pretty eventful, apart from the time that someone tried to kill me because I made him slow down from 100mph to 70mph due to the fact that I was in his way. So he decided to swerve in front of me, leaving about an inch gap, and then slam on his brakes as hard as he could. If I’d been distracted or inexperienced, I would have rammed into the back of the car, wrecked both cars and got some pretty bad injuries. I don’t know why anyone would feel the need to try to kill someone just because they’re mildly frustrated at having to drive at the speed limit and not 30mph above it.

Anyway I made it in one piece and had a lovely visit with everyone. Sonja brought her girls, Isabel and Eleanor, over on Saturday morning and we hung around for the day, just chatting and catching up, having a few drinks on Saturday night and they even decided to sleep over, even though they only live a 10 minute walk away :o)

On Sunday we decided to go to the Lake District Wildlife Park, which used to be called Trotters World of Animals when I worked in the café way back in 2002. Much fun was had by all; we got to touch a skink and a snake, which Eleanor loved as she’d previously stated she didn’t want to touch a snake so she was very brave :o)

Dad loved the birds of prey as usual, he’s always been fascinated by them and always has to watch the flying display.

Mam’s favourite part was the micro pigs as she’s always loved pigs, I don’t know why! But the micro piglets were scrumptiously cute and all came running over for everyone to stroke them, scratch them, poke and prod them and they just lay there taking it. Dad even picked one up and said he could take it home for mam, and it didn’t even flinch!

Here are some more photos from the day.

Froggie!

Red panda

Porcupines

Some sort of pretty looking cat. I want one of these to sit like this on either side of my fireplace.

I don’t know what these creatures are, but they’re funny looking ;o)

The day was busy and tiring for Eleanor and my dad

On Monday we decided to have a barbecue. Mam had seen a barbecue/ fire pit that she liked so we went to the shop to buy it then me, Sonja and mam proceeded to build it at home. After 25 minutes, dad came in asking what was wrong. We said nothing is wrong, why? Dad said we were taking ages over it; there was a lot to do!

Here is the finished article, with dad poking it with a stick from a long way back.

And toasting marshmallows after the barbecue was finished. We didn’t have skewers so had to use forks, which worked just as well, they just took a bit longer to do!

And here is my sister with an octopus on her head. She has this ace book with knitting patterns for ‘realistic’ animals, rather than cartoon versions, for things like an octopus, hermit crab, spider, ant, earthworm and praying mantis. It’s ace, this is the octopus which she made :o)

I just realised I haven’t posted any photos of my mam, so here she is with Isabel having a granddaughter/ nana hug

The house was too strange without Meg. As she was getting older, she found it harder to walk on the laminated floor so mam and dad had a patchwork of rugs and mats to help her walk. The floor was also covered in her toys and hair plus chewed up plastic bottles and crisp packets. That’s how the house it meant to be! But now they just have one rug on the laminate floor, all the toys have gone and there wasn’t a hair to be seen :o(

I also went to visit my grandparents. They seemed fine when I was there but mam has since told me that nana has shingles! I hope it’s not too bad and that she recovers quickly.

Their dog Skip isn’t too well either. She’s about the same age as Meg and she’s definitely on the way out; her legs are always quivering, she wanders around whining a lot, it takes her ages to sit down and stand up and she’s often sick. Poor old Skip :o(

But apart from that, it was a lovely four day visit, and I was sad to come back on the Tuesday because it’s the last ever public holiday that means anything to me, seeing as next week I’ll be self employed.....eeeeek!

I have loads of other stuff to write about since I got back but right now I need to get ready to go to Leicester for a barbecue, so I’ll finish this tomorrow.



5 working days remaining!


Last updated August 31, 2014


Deleted user August 30, 2014

Eleanor always looks so cool!

Bomb Shell Deleted user ⋅ August 30, 2014

I'm always disappointed that her clothes never come in my size :o)

Canadian Lass August 30, 2014

my land it seems your countdown has been going AGES!
I also wish I had a lick of knitting talent you and Sonja do!! maybe one of you should come visit me and teach me!!! lol
Seriously.. I can hardly knit a dish cloth.... lol

Bomb Shell Canadian Lass ⋅ August 31, 2014

LoL it takes a long time to learn and lots of practice. I've been knitting since I was very small so I feel like I've always been able to do it :o)

Babe In Toyland August 30, 2014

I didn't know nana had shingles! :( I love the photo of mam and Bel, I haven't seen it till now!

I got sad when I kept randomly finding Meg's things stashed away. Like when me and Bel ran under the cover so we could see the gulls grab the bread...we both clocked Meg's bowl and toys at the same time and just went "aw...."

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ August 31, 2014

I know, they both wanted to give me Meg's things for my business but I don't know if I could have them in the house all the time and see other dogs using them :o(

Yeah mam just told me about nana yesterday, Jacklyn says she even has it on her eye!

Camdengirl August 30, 2014

That's an ocelot. They breed bengals from them...

Bomb Shell Camdengirl ⋅ August 31, 2014

It isn't an ocelot, the sign said this cat lives in Kenya and ocelots live in South America. I think it might be a serval. Very pretty anyway :o)

Camdengirl Bomb Shell ⋅ August 31, 2014

LOL! Ah well - similar looking! My friend LadyN has a bengal called Oberon!

~Twinkle~ August 30, 2014

One more week at work, eek! Xx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.