Groundhog Day - 29.08.14 in Your Face

  • Aug. 29, 2014, 12:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Nothing in the mailbox from the visa office.

I am starting to feel like I’m in the movie, Groundhog Day. Remember how he keeps screwing things up, being an asshole, and so he has to keep replaying the same day over, and over, and over again? Yeah. That’s exactly it for me. So, I am still working on not being an asshole. Yesterday I saw a woman crouched down, fiddling with the wheel of her child’s pram. I stopped and asked if she was okay, she explained that there was a problem with the brake, so I braced against the pram while she pushed hard on it and it was fixed. Less than a minute of my time, and she was very polite and thanked me. Tomorrow I am going to visit an old school colleague who is in hospital near my house after a knee replacement. I haven’t seen her in over three years, after she answered a facebook request for a (paid) lift out to the airport. Again, it will only take an hour of my time, and a few bucks in snacks. I would appreciate it if I was in her position, and she posted on facebook that she’s keen for anyone and everyone to visit while she’s there for three days and away from her family in Canberra.

I’m not looking for praise here, by the way. Just documenting for future me to look back on.

Work was okay today.

Did I mention that my raffle ticket won a meat tray while I was at dinner with my neighbour last night? Four t-bone steaks. He cooked two tonight on the barbeque, along with some fried potatoes and a fried egg. Heaven! We also had orange poppyseed cake and vanilla ice cream for dessert. I am spoiled. Especially because I had a good half dozen glasses of a surprisingly good cask wine, too. I am so ready for bed.

I have no plans this weekend and am on strict financial rations. I need a small amount of groceries tomorrow, inclusive of laundry powder, but it’s not going to break the bank. Here’s hoping I can get a sleep-in, my brother is having trouble coping with new medication following a series of huge anxiety attacks, so he likes to get up at dawn’s crack to wake the whole house up.


Deleted user August 31, 2014

Visa nightmare! Oh fun. I hope it comes through nice n quick!

I can not walk past someone that needs help. I feel too guilty if I dont - I think how mean to not even offer...

I might pour a glass of wine now after reading this ! Steak n eggs ! Yummo.

AlexYourAlterEgo Deleted user ⋅ August 31, 2014

Yes, I am getting to be the same way. It very rarely takes longer than a minute or two to help someone out.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.