“Nothing Gold Can Stay” in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Nov. 11, 2023, 1:55 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Many years ago, in what now seems like a past life, I was an English teacher. I loved teaching poetry to students right at the cusp of their high school years, who for the first time had cognitively developed an appreciation for, and understanding of m, abstract thought, such as what you will find in poetry: metaphors, similes, symbolism, and the like. What a marvelous thing it was to read their interpretations of lines of poetry and, as part of the creative writing component of the class, to read write their own poetry.

I always said in the years that followed that I had never really appreciated poetry until I actually taught it, which required reading it carefully and attentively.

In generations past people read a lot of poetry, written by immensely popular poets such as Emily Dickinson, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, Edgar Allan Poe, John Greenleaf Whittier, Robert Frost, and the poets of the people such as Carl Sandburg and Edgar Guest, who was, in fact, known as the “People’s Poet.”

Nowadays is there anyone you know who reads poetry in this fast-paced world of smart phones and the Internet? I can’t think of anyone. I barely do do myself, and that’s a shame since I was an English major in my youth and was exposed to so much American and British poetry. In those days 50 years ago literature study was not as multicultural, unfortunately.

I even went through a brief period 20 years ago when I wrote a considerable number of poems that I was quite surprised to have been able to produce, and pleased with the results. But the well dried up and there’s been nothing since, except for perhaps one or two forgotten poems.

The fact is, though, I was exposed to the very finest poetry in my college years and have never forgotten reading and studying many of those poets, particularly William Wordsworth.

Also, at this time of year I renumber certain autumn poems, one of which I taught for three years in the early 1980s.

Nothing Gold Can Stay

Nature’s first green is gold,

Her hardest hue to hold.

Her early leaf’s a flower;

But only so an hour.

Then leaf subsides to leaf.

So Eden sank to grief,

So dawn goes down to day.

Nothing gold can stay.


— Robert Frost

How would you interpret the poem?

In our part of the world the leaves are just starting to turn. We have a very muted autumn, with color mostly hard to spot unless you’re looking for it.

But after living here in coastal South Carolina for almost 30 years now, I know where to look for it.

Here are some recent photos:

https://www.flickr.com/gp/camas/34335d6s0r


Last updated November 11, 2023


Sleepy-Eyed John November 11, 2023

I like poetry sometimes but don't always understand it.

I think poem is about spring being a season.

Oswego Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ November 11, 2023

Huh?

Sleepy-Eyed John Oswego ⋅ November 11, 2023

Why huh? What's confusing?

Oswego Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ November 11, 2023

It’s about spring and fall and the symbolism of leaves turning from green to red, gold. In fall the beautiful gold leaves soon enough become brown, wither and die. “Nothing gold can stay” meaning the beauty of spring and fall is short-lived, and so that’s why we enjoy (or at least I do) those seasons more more than the other two because they teach us so much! :)

So spring is much more then just a season, as is fall. Sometimes poetry is the best way to express that.

Sleepy-Eyed John Oswego ⋅ November 11, 2023

That's more or less what I meant. :)

Telstar November 11, 2023

These days it's hard to find people who can write complete sentences................

Oswego Telstar ⋅ November 11, 2023

Yes, it’s sadly true. The younger generation doesn’t need to write. It’s all about TikToc and Instagram and videos! 😳

Kristi1971 November 15, 2023 (edited November 15, 2023)

Edited

I'm not exactly sure why I have a hard time even wanting to read poetry. But - I am willing to give it another try. What would you recommend? I do remember liking Poe's stories, maybe I will like his poetry?

Editing to add: I think I might like Robert Frost...I remember liking one of his poems.

But I have this weird aversion to poetry as a whole. Like I'm frustrated just looking at it on the page. What is that all about?

Oswego Kristi1971 ⋅ November 15, 2023

It’s very hard to read poetry! It requires concentration and patience, and sometimes multiple readings. One of the reasons Edgar Guest was one of, if not the most popular American poet, is because he writes about common things everyone can relate to without getting too intellectually dense and mystical. I like his poems because they speak to a gentler age in the past and they are easy to comprehend. (You can Google his name and see what comes up)

On the other hand, I mostly prefer to challenge myself and do some hard thinking, when and If I get down to the hard work of reading g poetry. Ultimately it’s worth it, and I know I need to make the time.

This list I just came across has a very wide ranging mix of poems. I want to explore it further as it could be just the vehicle to get me reading poems again! :)

https://americanliterature.com/100-great-poems/

Kristi1971 Oswego ⋅ November 16, 2023

Thanks!

Oswego Kristi1971 ⋅ November 17, 2023

Let me know if you find any particular poems you like in that list! :)

Kristi1971 Oswego ⋅ November 17, 2023

Sure will!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.