My love of animals - or not in Regular Stuff

  • Aug. 28, 2014, 3:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Let me start off by saying that I do love animals. My whole childhood I had pets, mostly dogs but a few cats as well.

But, aside from dogs, cats and horses, animals freak me out. I do love to watch birds but don’t want them too close. Even birds people have as pets, parakeets, etc. scare me!

Amphibians, reptiles and rodents? No thank you. I can’t even hold a hamster. Or a bunny. I’m not sure where this fear comes from, but it’s very real and very deep rooted.

So if I had to pick one thing I did not like about living here, it would be the wildlife. Watching birds fly from the safety of my third floor balcony is a lot different than having dozens flying around my yard right above me. And there are so many squirrels! Especially the black ones. Why are some grey and some black? I guess I should look that up.

And the slugs! I really do not like these slimy creatures. And the bugs and spiders and other insects, oh my! They actually terrify me.

Our backyard is beautiful. The back half is covered with ivy and trees and a rock garden. The front half is grass and more trees. I love to sit out back and look at all this beauty. But the vegetation obviously attracts other admirers as well.

The other day there was a bird sitting on the patio. He just stayed there for a few hours. I actually thought he was dead at first. Once I realized it wasn’t, I couldn’t stand thinking he/she might be suffering so I called animal control. I was very impressed with how quickly they came out. The officer was so nice and so gentle with the bird. She said there was definitely something wrong and they would take it to the vet. I was happy the little bird was going to be taken care of but it was very unnerving for me to have it out there. At one point I looked at the window and thought it was gone. I was going to call and cancel, but decided to make sure before I did. I went to the patio door to go out and don’t you know that little bird had hopped over and was sitting right at the door! If I hadn’t seen it I might have stepped on it. I also probably would have of had a heart attack lol.

I guess the bottom line is that I like animals, but aside from cats, dogs and horses, I want them kept at a distance : )

In other news, we are having our first party this weekend. A cookout actually. I’m excited to see everyone and for them to see the house.

I can’t believe school starts next week. Makayla is at school right now meeting her teacher. I’ve gotten used to her being around the last few weeks. Her summer camp ended 2 weeks ago so it’s just been her and I hanging out. I will miss my little buddy!

I’ve been trying for days to get a hold of social security to change my address. Since I receive disability, it’s very important to keep my information current with them. I tried the website but kept getting locked out. I’ve called several times but get tired of waiting after 20 minutes or so. Today I was determined to get it done. I waited 37 minutes, hear someone pick up and the the line goes dead. Grrrr!

My niece’s ex, father of my great niece, was in a horrific accident a few days ago. He was riding on his motorcycle, had been drinking and lost control. He hit a tree, the bike flipped and he flew off of it. He is very lucky to be alive. And very lucky he didn’t hurt anyone else. He is a wonderful person and an alcoholic. I hope this is his wake up call but I don’t know if it will be. He’s got a great job that he’s had for years. He drives a truck that hauls goods to 7-11’s. He makes good money and just bought a house. I believe he will lose all of that. This is his second DUI accident. I think his job gave him a huge break last time but I don’t think that will be the case this time. He is in surgery right now. They said his pelvis was damaged, worse than they had ever seen. He will not be able to walk for at least 12 weeks. His parents live in another state but his mother is going to come take care of him. A sad situation all around.

I guess that’s all I’ve got. I hope you all have a lovely Labor day weekend!


Anaiss August 28, 2014

I am sorry that the squirrels and birds make you uncomfortable. They are a part of nature and it's we humans who have intruded on their space, not vice-versa. But I sympathize with how you feel. They are gentle creatures who are more afraid of you than you are of them. I am so glad you got some help for that poor little bird who was on your patio!!! I can't wait to see more pictures of your new home. The party sounds like it will be a lot of fun and you will be so proud to show off your new home!

Ferret Mom August 29, 2014

That's good that you called animal control.

Deleted user October 03, 2014

Yay! I found you. I hope you will write again soon. I like to look at birds but I do not want them near me too much. I agree with you there. I have been on the phone waiting for a long time and then when someone finally arrives to help you, the phone gets disconnected. Ugh! You have to start all over again. Alcoholism is a horrible disease. Yes, it sounds like this gentleman is going to lose everything. I'm so sorry about this but I'm glad he wasn't in an accident where someone else was hurt.

Deleted user October 08, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words when it comes to my entries. I love everything you have to share and it means a great deal to me that you are there. Thanks again! Hoping you will begin to write more often so I can support you too. Love,

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.