Friday - 29.08.14 in Your Face

  • Aug. 29, 2014, 3:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I probably shouldn’t title this entry “Friday”, as it has barely begun. I was awake at 5am, so I am getting an early start here.

Nothing from the visa office, but I am taking it as positive. They are very quick to email me a response to an emailed question, and I mailed back my notice of readiness to interview a while back (hoping to get an interview scheduled early, got knocked back though) and I got an email the very next day. So, the fact that I have not heard from them makes me confident that I’ve satisfied everything they need to schedule the interview. The reason I’ve been so unsure is because while I have to re-do SOME of the steps, I haven’t had to re-do ALL of them. But the letter they sent me was a cobbled mess of precedent paragraphs, most of which didn’t apply to me, a few that definitely did, and a few that were ambiguous. They listed three versions of one form and asked me to return them all, but only one version applied to my situation. They asked for a new police check, then on the next page told me not to order one until my interview was scheduled. That sort of thing.

Anyway, this is just more of me rolling things over and over in my head all day long.

My dinner with my neighbour last night was nice. It’s so cheap when we go together and share a couple of plates. His mother is still unwell and I am afraid that she is going to die. She hasn’t eaten much in three days now and looks dreadful. Yesterday morning when I went over there, the lights were still out and when I walked in, I could see her in bed through the doorway. I thought, ‘This is it’, until my neighbour turned around from the sink with a big smile on his face and confessed that he had overslept by half an hour and had not got his mother out of bed yet (she’s in a wheelchair).

Phew.

Work yesterday was okay, I cracked the shits in the afternoon over a few things, but today’s another day, right? And it’s Friday, and it’s casual clothes day in the office, so I can be comfortable instead of lumping around in cheap shit I threw together when I found out I was going back to work.

Speaking of which, I will need to do another week, which is depressing as far as sitting in that crap hole for another week, but awesome as far as money.


Canadian Lass August 29, 2014

extra week extra funds!!! keep thinking positive!! your on a roll!!!! and hey... we were up at 5am here to... must be on the same time loop.. lol

AlexYourAlterEgo Canadian Lass ⋅ August 29, 2014

That's exactly right! Every dollar counts right now, I still have to fork out for a trip to Sydney to the US Consulate, plus visa fee. The train trip is cheap enough, $25 will let me get all the trains I want for 24 hours, visa fee will be about $260, plus I'll have to pack a lunch which means a few extra bucks on the grocery bill that week. I am very fortunate to have been able to work a few weeks. It has made ALL the difference.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.