Teacher of the Year in Public

  • Oct. 27, 2023, 9:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Oh my gosh. I was voted teacher of the year for my school, by my peers. I was so surprised, even though I have been hoping for it. It’s so nice to get the honor. There is a big to do in February for all of the nominees where they pick Teacher of the Year for the district. I think it’s black tie. I will have to go and do an interview at the district building and they will set up publicity shoots for the nominees as well. It’s all very exciting.

In other news, surgery looms on the horizon for both myself and Liam. I am having my left hand operated on for carpal tunnel on December 21st. My parents are coming for Christmas because I won’t be able to fly or really be in a car without the use of a whole hand.

Liam is having neck surgery done on November 30th. He has some fused discs and they are causing him immeasurable amounts of pain. He does not sleep well and he’s losing feeling in his right arm. He has had this pain for several years but it’s really bad now. He will be unable to drive for about 2 weeks. So he’ll heal in just enough time for me to be unable to drive. My parents being here for 6 days will be such a big help.

I’m admittedly regretting my choice/need to have surgery right before Christmas because it means we can’t go home to PA. I am happy my parents are coming here but I also know they will be sad to not be in PA. Parents do these things, spend their time between their children (When their children live in different states/areas). It doesn’t make it any more fun though. I will miss my sister and the boys and I am really really sad about it all.

The compromise is that Liam and I are both flying home to PA for Thanksgiving. Which is my least favorite of all the holidays but I am thankful regardless. He wasn’t going to come with me, initially, but surprised me with the tickets a few weeks ago. He has to be in Chicago from 11-5/11-10. Mac will be spending a lot of time in the boarding Pet Hotel attached to our vet but they love him and he gets a lot of time out in the yard so he’ll be okay.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.