Mr Sniffy and the tale of two dress-ups in One day at a time

  • Aug. 27, 2014, 4:04 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Work has been crazy busy, and I love it. I’m finally starting to get a few regular clients of my own and I am also working on two lots of group travel. It’s not at the level of busy that my old job was every.single.day, thank goodness. Just a nice steady busy. My workmate (Mr Sniffy) is not busy. I know this because last week I looked after his stuff as well (he was on a work trip to Thailand) and he got one, yes ONE actionable email all week. To put that into perspective I get about 30 a day, plus I am my bosses bitch. Sorry no other way to describe it. I look after his clients when he is busy. Do his typing. Issue his tickets. I am also the go to gal in the office (you know when the printer is jammed, when we are out of toner, blah, blah). Y’all know I am such an optimist I’m hoping they will finally notice that I do work hard when I am away on holiday. and then (hey this is my fantasy) I might get a raise.

On that note it is two weeks today until I fly out. Before then I have the Rocky Horror sing-a-long (me and 3 friends are going as Frankenfurter - friend Fiona has made awesome costumes). Then our work conference - Mr Sniffy and I are attending. You might remember two years ago when the little prick dumped me at the door and I knew NO-body. He has a couple of friends that work in another one of our offices. (one of which he snogged that night). Last year he had just starting seeing his new girly and was all loved up. Girly-snog from the previous year didn’t want to know him and his other friend was a no show. So he glammed onto me for the night but I was hanging with the crowd I had desperately smoozed the year before. Anyway we get to stay in a nice hotel, and the dinner is usually good. It is fancy dress too. For those of you keeping score that is two fancy dresses in two days. Sunday after the conference I fly to my home town and spend the day with my Mother (who is turning 86 the next day). Then I will get the bus home, (5 hours oh goody). Then I have one day off to get mani’d, pedi’d and generally shuzhed up. Next day I have to be at the airport at 4.30AM and I am goooone.

Things with Richard have been pretty good but as soon as we reach that stage he backs off. I saw a Mary Angelou quote the other day Never make someone a priority when to them you are just an option .Word!


Indoorkitty August 27, 2014

That's a good quote. I like it. :-)

FormerlyMe August 27, 2014

tranquil September 23, 2014

I hope you are having a wonderful trip or had a good one! I can't wait to hear all about it!

Where did you go exactly? This isn't the NY trip is it? Your conference sounds similar to the ones J attends minus the formal attire. He has to wear office attire but its not formal! Also your role at the office sounds like J's job.

That is a wise quote by Maya. It makes sense but for some this can be so hard to apply in actual life (me)!

Anyway have fun & be safe! Oh and I hope the 5 hr bus ride goes fast!
xo

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.