a memory. in The Wind it Doth Blow...

  • Oct. 25, 2013, 3:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Most Friday nights we all go out. Rich goes to a kid friendly pub on his way back from work and when I finish work we go over there to meet him. The kids play on the play equipment outside beyond it being too dark to see, while Rich and I have time to chat.

The pub is about three miles from here and between here and there is the area of town that Rich lived in when we met.

Our first date was in London, having had parallel Open Diary experiences - we knew a lot of the same people but didn't actually know each other.

Anyway, our second date was here. I drove over from London and followed his instructions to his flat. Part of that journey - about half a mile of the 80 mile total journey! - is a sixth of the journey to the pub.

Tonight, as I drove to the pub, past the new Morrisons that is being built I remembered the first time that I drove along that stretch of road, i thought about the way it had looked, what I was likely to have noticed and what I probably missed. And I thought about the changes that have happened since then. New buildings and a new road junction.

As I drove towards the turn off for the old flat I felt the butterflies in my tummy again, that bit of excitement, that I felt almost 14.5 years ago.

I love still having the sparkle, and those lovely memories :-)


Deleted user October 25, 2013

Lovely! Life's a mystery! (and love, for that matter) :-)

Hugs

salty*dog October 25, 2013

Awwww. :)

~Twinkle~ October 26, 2013

Love this :) xxx

edna million October 28, 2013

What a nice memory! It's really strange to stop and think about how things have changed as the years go by. All the stuff you don't really notice when you see it every day.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.