I had come to acceptable terms with my morality, which I think is one of the first barriers to going ahead and living (in that if you fear death you will always be trying to escape it somehow, but if you accept the investable period at the end of your personal run on sentence, you’re more likely to just get on with it), until I had my kid at 40. Now I find myself bargaining with the universe to live longer than my lifetime of bodily abuse and rotten luck on the ol’ genetic lotto will allow so that I don’t leave my child when she is young. But other than that, I’m good with death. I’ve been informed by colleagues in the medical profession that, at the very end of the end, your brain gives up trying to keep you going and you are flooded with all the endorphins and dying feels pretty good (given you don’t get slammed by a bus or something).

Kids are not the only path to long term, post death existing either. Your impact on others may well be felt for decades beyond the end of your sentence, weaving into the sentences of others and creating a beautiful paragraph that brings love and comfort and snort-laughter long after your atoms have disassembled. Kids are no guarantee of your name being spoken when you’re gone, but I think living your life with integrity (of various sorts), helps with that. Anyway, I quite like this essay.