I can('t) see clearly now! in Life in General

  • Oct. 1, 2023, 11:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Contacts

So my new contacts arrived about a week ago and they are AWFUL. I had never been so uncomfortable in my life, just felt like sandpaper in my eyes. The doctor told me they get much more comfortable as you wear them and to slowly wear them longer each day to build tolerance.

I couldn’t do it. After like 3 days of torturing myself for hours I just gave up. I waited until the next appointment to let them know.

Speaking of the next appointment, I should have mentioned that these weren’t my final lenses. They were the first trial pair but needed some adjustments. They offered to let me wait until the new ones arrive before wearing them but I opted to go ahead and get started so I could just get it over with.

I should have waited though because my new pair arrived (at the wrong office so I had to go pick them up and bring them back, about an hour drive ordeal.... ugh) and the news ones are SO MUCH BETTER comfort wise. They still don’t feel great when I wear them, but they’re like a 4/10 on the discomfort scale, versus the other ones which were like an 8 or even a 9.

However, there is one major flaw so far… they’re blurry.

They keep trying to convince me I have 20/20 vision while wearing them, and if that’s true, I must have had 20/10 vision previously with my glasses, because my vision is so much worse with these contacts in. Like yeah, I can see fine but it’s like the difference between HD and 4K. LIke sure, HD is fine but if I have the choice I’m going 4K.

Every day I get a little sanity check when I take them out and put my glasses back on and I’m like “OH MY GOD YES I CAN SEE AGAIN.” haha.

I spent like $1000 on these fuckin contacts they better figure it out or I’m gonna ask for my money back, because I would never choose these over my glasses in their current state. It’s just so annoying because the eye doctor told me I’d have EVEN BETTER vision with these over contacts, but so far it’s like opposite. At this point, I’d take em if the vision was the same with my glasses, but WORSE? Nah....

He said he wanted me to wear them for a week before we make final adjustments to the prescription and I’m down to play ball but I knew then just as much as I know now, days later, that these lenses are wrong. But at least they’re more comfortable I guess. I’ll report back.

Bear

I took bear back for his two follow up visits after starting his new BP medication. His bloodwork was PERFECT. Every single thing they tested were wnl. I was so happy I wanted to cry.

I did mention that he’s been scared to go out to the backyard lately. He will hold his pee and poop for so long instead of going out there. To help, I’ve been going outside with him and standing there watching so he knows he’s safe. It’s been helping, but weeks later he’s still super freaked out.

Something must have scared him out there, maybe a loud noise or he got bit by a bug or something, I’m not sure. He is super scared of thunder and we had a few nasty thunderstorms recently so it’s possible that’s the culprit. It’s been getting slightly better and better but we’re working on it.

Jessica and I took him to a dog park yesterday and he seemed to enjoy it. He’s always been a bit lower energy than other dogs but obviously with his age he’s only going to keep slowing down. And some of the other dogs at the park were running circles around him and he just froze up like “wtf is this thing doing?” haha it was really cute. But it was nice to get out of the house and sit in the sun for a while with Jessica I really enjoyed it. I’m going to start encouraging us to do stuff like that a bit more, even if it’s just for an hour or so.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.