august 24 in twenty-eight

  • Aug. 25, 2014, 3:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

We went back to the animal shelter today and adopted the weimaraners!

alt text

alt text

They look almost brown in these pics, but the larger one, Thomas, is a light grey and the smaller one, Cadence, is dark grey. So far they are adjusting well and even seem to tolerate our other dog, who is wary of other dogs in general. They don’t really notice the cats so far, and haven’t tried to devour the ferrets (they did nip a little at one of them at first, but I don’t think they would have seriously injured him. Regardless, they’re never being left alone together since in the end they are hunting dogs, after all).

I have a feeling Cadence will feel more like mine and Thomas will be more C’s. Thomas likes to run, which C was looking for in a dog. They are both incredibly sweet and well-mannered so far. When I take them on walks they are a bit of an undertaking, since she is 54 pounds and he is 72. But, it’s doable and I’m hoping that as they get more used to me, they’ll be easier to take on walks.

These are the first dogs I’ve ever had that were really mine and I have to say, it’s a very different feeling than I was expecting. They really do feel like they were meant to be mine.


patrisha August 25, 2014

They are lovely dogs and I am so glad you went back and adopted them.

banker chick August 26, 2014

They're so cute, glad you went back to get them!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.