Markdown change... again in Site Updates

  • Aug. 25, 2014, 1:30 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve had a few people reporting 404 errors when trying to preview or save an entry. There seems to be a problem with the new Markdown parser I added recently. When it breaks, it breaks in dramatic fashion, crashing the worker process running it (so it can’t even report the error to me). What that means is I’m not seeing error emails, so I don’t know exactly how many people this has happened to.

I’m now trying an older and more stable Markdown converter (at least that’s what I’m hoping). It should have most of the features that were there before, except for the ~~strike~~ for strikethrough. That would be the only difference I’m aware of.

There’s also some other kind of cool features, but I’m not going to bother documenting those until I know this version works reliably. If you run into problems, let me know.


Deleted user August 25, 2014

Thank you for the very quick fix!

Dancing.Shadow August 25, 2014

The only problem I've encountered was I couldn't italicize or bold my words. Other than that, no complaints here.

simple mind Dancing.Shadow ⋅ August 25, 2014

Hmm... that should still work. Testing...

Bold, italic

simple mind Dancing.Shadow ⋅ August 25, 2014

Yup, I used **bold** and *italic*.

I need tea. August 25, 2014

All good here x

MC Freckles August 25, 2014

I have a question regarding online diaries and copyright. Are there copy right laws that protect us and our writings if we share them on sites like this?

simple mind MC Freckles ⋅ August 25, 2014

Yes, there are. Here's a very informative article:

http://www.smashingmagazine.com/2007/07/07/copyright-explained-i-may-copy-it-right/

Even though it's my site, user generated content is the property of the users. Merely creating content gives you copyright until 50 years after your death (or something like that). Adding a Terms of Service is still on my to-do list, and that's one of the things to address and clarify.

MC Freckles simple mind ⋅ August 26, 2014

Thank you so much! I always wondered and hesitated posting a lot of my stuff because I wasn't sure!

Deleted user August 25, 2014

This is why it's often best to leave a good thing alone. :) I'll still take those customized backgrounds and book search features, though. ;)

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ August 26, 2014

Well, if I had left it alone there would not be automatic single line breaks and URLs with underscores would still break. Right now it looks like it's working beautifully so I can focus on other awesome features.

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ August 26, 2014

That's great! :) I remember those "broken" URLs and how frustrating they could be.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.