"KAAAAAATE!! KAAAAAAATE!!" in A new beginning

  • Aug. 24, 2014, 5:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have been away from my desk lately being a medical assistant. Not only does it suck because I know MY work isn't getting done and I have to deal with all the complaints whenever they decide to assign me back to my desk, but I am a little limited on what I can do physically.

  1. I am a naturally weak person strength wise. Because of my stomach issues I currently weigh in at a whopping 113 lbs on a good day and am constantly losing more weight.
  2. I had surgery on my left wrist 4 months ago and now need surgery on my right so I am in constant pain and have limitations with both.
  3. My back and left knee (that I injured wheeling a 375 lb woman earlier in the year) like to give me trouble as well.

Now that we have that all out of the way....
Friday I worked with a PA who has an odd name but I shall call him Bathsalts for the sake of this entry. I went out to get this patient that has osteoarthritis of her knee and wanted a cortisone injection. I figured this would be a pretty straight forward visit and be pretty quick. Well, let's just say...... I thought wrong. I picked up her superbill and notice there is a sticky attached that says "Patient is hard of hearing". Well, that was the understatement of the year! We basically screamed at each other the entire visit. As she gets up out of her seat, I notice she is ambulating with a cane. I think to myself, thank God because if I have to wheel this 300 lb+ woman, I'm screwed. She immediately starts walking slow and her breathing is very labored. I knew the right thing to do would be to offer her a wheel chair, but damnit I was already wearing my brace for my right hand and was too scared to! As soon as we enter the other waiting room she stops, takes another excessive breath and shouts "Oh, I really need a wheel chair!!" Fuck! I get her in one and start the long painful journey of wheeling her back. She screams, "WHAT IS THIS DOCTOR'S NAME?? I MEAN, I KNOW HIS NAME IS BATHSALTS BUT WHAT IS HE..DOCTOR WHAT??" I shout back (several times) "HE IS A PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT. HIS NAME IS BATH SALTS. SO YOU CAN JUST CALL HIM BATH SALTS OK"

Finally get her back to a room and her med list is neverending of course. Yelling out 100+ different meds was fun. Pretty sure the entire clinic could hear her whole visit with me. So naturally she decides wearing spandex would be a great idea for her appointment for her cortisone injection and asks for some shorts to change into and a step stool to get up onto the table. Fair enough, I run and go get both of these things and she takes the shorts and yells "WOW THESE ARE HUGE!!....BUT THEY STILL AINT GONNA FIT ME! YOU WANNA DO ME A FAVOR KATE AND WITH YOUR GOOD HAND HELP ME UP ON THE TABLE." wtf. So against my better judgement, I help her up on the table while my wrists screamed at me the entire time. "ALRIGHT YOU WANNA PULL MY PANTS DOWN FOR ME? I'M GOING TO PUT THE SHORTS RIGHT IN FRONT SO HE DON'T SEE ANYTHING. LOOK! RIGHT HERE! (points to her vag) CAN YOU SEE ANYTHING KATE??" I wanted to be like uh, no and I'm pretty sure you haven't seen anything in years. Seriously, her stomach was almost down to her knees, I'm not sure why she was concerned about this. Finally I'm able to exit the room and close the door. All of the sudden I hear her scream out "AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!!!!" I was like shit did she just fall off the table? I go back in and she is sitting there and I ask her if she is okay. "OOOOH WOW! YOU HEARD THAT??? I WAS JUST YAWNING!" facepalm

I had to run to the surgery center to check up on some questions I left my surgeon before I went to lunch so I was talking to her asking her how her vacation went. All of the sudden the other medical assistant I was working with comes into the recovery room we were in and goes "Kate, your friend was screaming for you. I was just standing there and all I could hear was her yelling out frantically KAAAAAAAAAATE!!! KAAAAAAAAAAAAATE!!!! over and over again. I had no idea where it was coming from and when I entered her room she yelled out frantically "I NEED MY NURSE KATE!! WHERE IS SHE??" I told her you were at lunch and I asked her if there was something I could help her with and she yelled at me that she was cold. Yeah....so she had to come all the way to the surgery center to get her a blanket. When she went back to the room to give her the blanket the woman said to her "CAN I ASK YOU SOMETHING? WHY DID YOU LOOK ALL DISTURBED WHEN I WAS YELLING OUT KATE'S NAME??" wth. She was like "Um I was just startled and afraid something was wrong is all". Some people!

I work with my surgeon tomorrow so that is now 7 days off my desk. Should be a fun return whenever that happens. You better believe I will be asking for a raise at my eval especially after having to do things physically I shouldn't be and after unwrapping this guy's splint the other day and seeing what was left of his amputated finger. Felt bad for his 6 year old that was sitting there with his mouth wide open. I tried distracting him with a piece of paper and crayons and that seemed to work. If they are going to have me do this on a reguler basis they WILL be training me how to remove sutures and do preop the correct way. I refuse to do either until I am trained properly. Although I have done a few preops for patients that were just having surgery under local and no anesthesia because they aren't as complicated. Just winging it which is not a great system obviously but try telling that to lithium manager and see what happens. You get told you are not a team player and you are being too negative. I'm still holding out on the fact that she leaves one day. Say a little prayer for me ok! haha.


It's_all_a_journey August 24, 2014

lol omg you have quite the job!

Ditch Witch August 24, 2014

oh. my. god. lol I didnt know whether to laugh or cry at this. Every time I saw "bathsalts" I would laugh hysterically tho lol jesus..how do you do it? HOWWW

Vee August 25, 2014

Ugh sounds like so much stress. I have no idea how you and your husband get through it all it sounds like you both work so hard

NeonLady August 25, 2014

Haha! Crazy!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.