Final Day of trip and goodbyes in Everyday Things

  • Aug. 24, 2014, 6:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

After our successful stint at Myrtle Beach, we had one final day together before Jasmine would have to fly back to Texas. Tori's daughter, Liliana, was having a soccer draft in Forsyth. She wanted us to be there at 10. Unfortunately, neither one of us wanted to get up early lol. We missed her soccer draft, but we still managed to hangout with Tori, her boyfriend Joe, and my nieces and nephew.

Tori's ex-husband was being a dick, so her mood was in the dumps while we were there. He was supposed to bring money for the kids, but she wasn't able to get in touch with him like she wanted to. His lack of motivation put her in a tight spot. I told her I would loan her some money for the time being, so we traveled to Wal-Mart to buy some food among other things.

We wrapped up our little pit stop at Wal-Mart. Tori and Joe agreed to come to my house to hangout later that evening for a long overdue double date.

In the meantime, Jasmine and I stopped at a Dairy Queen for a brief lunch followed by a tour through my old neighborhood. I showed her my childhood home, and I also showed her some of the places I used to frequent while I was a child. We made it home around 2:30; we were tired, so we decided to take a quick nap. We knew Tori and Joe would come around 3. Tori sent me a text saying they would arrive around 4 p.m. That extra hour gave us more time to rest. Tori called me around 4 saying she got lost in my neighborhood lol. She finally found my house after a few minutes lol.

The plan was for us to go bowling in Conyers followed by grilling hot dogs on my little charcoal grill. The four of us hopped in my car, filled it up with gas then made the short drive up to the bowling alley. It was the first time Tori and Joe had actually bowled, and Jasmine hadn't been in ages. We had sooo much fun bowling! Tori told me this was exactly what they needed and thanked me profusely for treating them.

We played four games total, and Jasmine only played two of those games. We had a prepaid limit of two hours, so during the middle of the fifth game, we had reached our limit. We were bummed, but we all had fun :-).

We stopped by Kroger to get some grilling supplies then made our way back home. While I started the grill, Joe and I took turns throwing the football around to the amusement of our girls. Jasmine and Tori got along great. In fact, we spent most of Saturday evening swapping stories. The hotdogs took their sweet time to finish, but we didn't mind at all. Dusk started to settle in, so we moved our little party to my mancave for the rest of the evening. During this time, we mostly talked about relationship-heavy topics and what to expect from the future.

We started messing around on my iPad picking out random songs and playing back video from the previous week. We all settled down and ate our hot dogs, pork beans, and chips. Joe had four hot dogs lol. We were having so much fun, we didn't notice the time was nearly midnight O_O. Joe and Tori would have a 40-minute drive back, but neither one of them minded they were out for so long. We finally bid them goodbye when the worst part of the trip happened: Jasmine packing up.

We both knew the day would come, and we both were trying to fight back tears, but they came to each of us. It was hard knowing she had to go back the following morning. We both contemplated on her missing the flight, but I had already made a promise to her parents she would be back. Her flight would leave the next morning around 8:25, so we knew we had to wake up early. I tried going to bed after midnight, but I had to rock Jasmine to sleep because she was crying so hard.

Unfortunately, it was time for us to wake up in the morning and begin the long trek towards the airport. For the first time, we didn't really speak on the car ride to the airport. We held hands through the entire car ride, and Jasmine admitted she was feeling nervous in her stomach. Jasmine has low vision, so I had already requested for passenger services. I had no idea what to expect but was glad they gave me a gate pass to accompany Jasmine to her departing gate. We were both at peace with the inevitable, and neither one of us shed a tear. We kissed a few times and said our goodbyes and "I love yous". I looked back a couple of times then turned around for good.

I would post pics, but my internet connection has been wonky lately, and Photobucket is taking its sweet time loading. I will have to post those later lol.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.