(Almost) Skinny Man in Muddling Through As Best I Can

  • Aug. 24, 2014, 8:38 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This morning while while driving to work, I was talking to my friend on the phone. As I disconnected the call, the Bluetooth was dislodged and fell into the floorboard by my feet. Without thinking I reached down and picked it up and put it on the car seat.
Afterward I realized that I didn't grunt or strain, and my eyes never left the road.
Now this probably doesn't sound like much to most people, but at one time I weighed over 500lbs (or 35.714 stone). This made bending, leaning, and even simply standing both difficult and painful.
The weight loss has taken years, and as anyone with a weight problem knows, there's no easy way to do it.
But somehow this time I did it and it seems to be sticking. I'm still nearly thirty pounds from my ultimate goal, but I feel like I'll get there now.
Bending over to pick something up without strain may not seem like much to most, but it's a potent reminder of where I was, and hope never to be again.
For those of you facing the same issue, focus focus focus, and pray pray pray. I don't listen to naysayers, it works for me.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.