Sunday in Another Open Diary refugee

Revised: 08/24/2014 12:09 p.m.

  • Aug. 24, 2014, 8:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sunday morning... John got up and went to Urgent Care. That must mean he REALLY feels bad... (worried). In the meantime, I can't lift my right arm above my shoulder and my neck is hurting on that side. I had to wash my hair this morning using my wrong hand. My shoulder's been complaining all week but it's suddenly got much worse. Not sure if I should try to get a massage tomorrow or (ugh) go to a chiropractor. Never been to one except to get a massage, but I have to do something, I don't want a frozen shoulder... atm I have free range of movement as long as I don't try to lift it up - I CAN lift it, it just hurts, and the hot shower didn't do anything to relax it.

Just had breakfast (yoghut and nuts) and took ALL my pills including my muscle relaxer that I usually use at night. Hope it helps... obviously no church today - I can't use the cane in this state, and I got up too late anyway. John wanted me to go to Urgent Care with him but I said no, I'm hurting too much. There isn't anything they could do for me, I already have pain pills and muscle relaxers and an anti-inflammatory. All they could do would be to tell me to take more of them...

Update - John drove all the way to the clinic and discovered he'd left his wallet sitting on the counter at home so he had to come back again. I took that as a sign that I should go with him! My pills had pretty much kicked in and I was feeling a lot better by then, so we went back and he was attended to in due course. Hopefully he'll be feeling much better soon now he's got antibiotics and strong pain pills. I didn't think my muscle relaxer affected me, but I usually only take it at night or if I'm laying down and my sciatica kicks in - when we were sitting in the clinic I started to get really woozy! Now I know why they say 'do not drive, do not operate heavy machinery' etc on all the labels... I figured that I needed to go for a walk and help my body metabolise it, so I went to Publix (just next door) and walked around the store leaning on a trolley with my good arm, and sure enough I felt fine by the time I was done. I got him a bunch of soft foods including some new diabetic shakes that only have ten carbs in them (I looked at Instant Breakfast but that has 40g of carbohydrates in each serve! That'd put his blood sugar through the roof!) The diabetic shakes are more expensive, but he needs the sustenance. He didn't eat enough to keep a bird alive yesterday because it hurt too much for him to eat anything, and he can't go on like that...


Last updated August 24, 2014


Darcy0207 from OD August 24, 2014

I went through frozen shoulder recently - glad it was my left as I am right handed. I didn't even know it existed till the chiropractor told me what it was. He pummeled me for sure, but it helped. It is still a bit stiff, but MUCH better than it had been. Good luck for both of you.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm August 24, 2014

had a frozen should a number of years ago. p/t helped it go away. before i knew what was going on the other shoulder froze. no p/t couldn't afford the copays. so did the exercises from p/t for the other shoulder. it took a year for it to go away not going to p/t. i hope you don't have that. prayers for both of you to fee better. take care,

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm August 24, 2014

i do hope he gets better quickly. it's awful to be in pain. so glad there is an urgent care place for him to go. i didn't realize instant breakfast had 40 g of carbs in them. still, i have one for breakfast every morning. it keeps me going all morning. hope he can eat again soon. take care,

Everything Good Rebecca August 24, 2014

Glad he went in when he realized it was needed. Some men just won't and this makes problems worse! I really do hope he gets better soon and you continue to improve as well. I know going to church isn't the true main thing about Christianity (and I'm glad you know this too) but I also know that missing that part of my week throws off the rhythm so each day after that is difficult to place in my mental calendar. At least that's the trouble I have. (hugs)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.