New Monitor in Life in General

  • Sept. 5, 2023, 12:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

warning this is just tech nerdy crap so if you don’t care about that stuff skip…

Something I didn’t mention in my previous entry is that in order to better play games together, I’ve basically given up my current office to turn it into a game room for us. Which is totally fine, because we have another room for my video gear.

So I moved my desk from one wall to the other so I can put another desk right next to mine for Jessica. I set it up with my old gaming monitor and attached our gaming laptop to it, so now it’s like we have two gaming computers side by side.

It’s been great actually she loves it but there has been a downside....

So.... I have this really really really nice monitor (I may have talked about it previously) which is called a QDOLED monitor. I could talk about it for a while, but I’ll just summarize it as..

  1. Inky blacks
  2. Insane colors
  3. BRIGHT BRIGHT HDR

…basically, it’s the best gaming monitor money can buy right now. And then there is Jessica’s monitor (my old one). It’s actually a really solid display, but next to the QDOLED, it looks like a bag of butts.

So there is this other solution I was going to get for myself where you buy this specific 42” OLED TV, mount it to the wall, and use it as a gaming monitor. Everyone who has it LOVES it. It’s one of the few TV displays that actually works as well as a normal PC monitor. (most TVs have pretty high input lag which makes them not suitable for PC use). Problem is, it’s expensive.

But I really like having Jessica play her games next to me here in the gaming room so I figured this would be a good way to bait her in here more often hehe. So I went to Best Buy and got it and installed it to surprise her.

alt text
The OLED TV (on the left)

I had a bad feeling she wouldn’t care very much and be like “why would you spend that much money on something like this?” But she LOVED IT. I definitely married the right woman.

Yesterday she had a day off and we spent the entire day just lounging in the game room playing our games. I have finally been getting through my back log of steam games I bought and then never played. She’s been playing a lot of Genshin. It’s been great.

Anyway just wanted to nerd out a bit about tech stuff. I’ll be back later!


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.