Not sure how to do this thing in Just in Case

  • Aug. 28, 2023, 6 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This week has been extra rough for Daddy, which means rough for me, too. My best friend’s mom has been fighting dementia as well. She lost that battle a few days ago. Today was her funeral. Her final days hit Daddy hard, I tried to not give him all the details, but he really wanted them. It brought so much up about Mama, though. (I had to tell my friend that I couldn’t be there for the funeral, I had excuses, but the main truth is - I’m not ready to sit at any funeral, but especially not at a mom’s, where I will hear about how great a mom she was (and she truly was). She understood me not coming, but I wish I was strong enough to be there for her.
We also got Mama’s death certificate in today. They listed malnutrition as her cause of death. I knew that would be the case, and I know it’s a typical cod when it’s someone who has had dementia. It felt like it was pointing a finger at me, though, that I was to blame. Daddy pushed so hard for her to eat. Everything I read, everyone I spoke to, including hospice said, give hr what she wants, don’t make eating a battle. If she will only eat a bite, that’s a bite more than she would have otherwise. I can’t help but wonder if I could have tried something different.
I’m not handling things as well as I should. I work to keep a happy face here for Daddy, as much as I can. I try to keep it normal at school. That means I just keep pushing things down. I know that’s not healthy, but it’s what works for now. Except, now I tear up at the silliest of things.
I have a bag of the clothes Mama wore those 3 days at the nursing home. I can’t throw them away, or wash them, because they smell like her perfume. I keep the bag in my room, and pick it up from time to time, just to smell it.
I’ve got to work this out. I’ve got to process and deal, so I can be what I need to be for others. I never planned on what I would need to do after she was gone. :(
And she’s not here for me to ask. :(
I miss her.
So damn much.


Jigger August 28, 2023

God, honey, I am so sorry. No child deserves to go through this. You did the best you could with what you had, and you did better than a lot of us would have. There’s no point in excoriating yourself, and you don’t deserve that. You couldn’t force her to keep going when she didn’t want to; if you had, you would be blaming yourself for that instead. You loved her, and you took the best care you could of her, in the face of a godawful disease. She was loved, right to the end.

Go ahead and keep her clothes for a while longer. Smell them when you need to. Grieve slowly, in little bits, when you can allow yourself to. However you do it, it’s all right.

Small Town Girl September 01, 2023

I am so sorry for your loss! I know it's so hard and it takes a long, long time. Hugs my dear.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.