Advice, Please - 20.08.14 in Your Face

  • Aug. 21, 2014, 6:38 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I got an offer on my car. It's $700 less than my listing price, but let's be honest, I would have let them beat me down $400 on it, so it's $300 less than what I would really want to get for it.

So, do I take the offer, or do I decline in light of the fact that I need the car to get to my temping work, otherwise it's over 2 hours and three buses each way to the office.

Also keeping in mind that this chick hasn't laid eyes on the car. I don't want to agree, and then she turns up and wants to pick at shit and try to get an even lower price.

Thoughts?

I am leaning towards accepting it, just to get it done and dusted. I am sure I can suck it up for two measly weeks getting to this job on the buses. It costs far more getting the buses (over $15 a day) than it cost to drive the car (I use $30 in a WEEK and that includes weekend driving), but again - only for two weeks. Plus, I could probably hitch a few rides here and there from people, which saves a few bucks.

So, yeah. I want to accept, and get her to come and get it. If she turns up and wants to haggle, I'll just remind her that I already dropped a lot off my sale price and that I can't drop any more. If she isn't happy, then I guess I go back to waiting.

I can always drop the price if it's unsold and I need to leave but, of course, the more money I can get for it, the better. But what if I have to resort to that, and I kick myself because I could have had what is actually a decent price in my hand now?

Hmmm.


Deleted user August 21, 2014

If she shows up trying to haggle just lie and say you've very recently received another offer for the exact price she originally offered (chances are by that time, it may even happen). If you're already being fair on your original asking price and she's taken nearly a grand off with her offer, there aren't too many good reasons to go even lower. Anyone who is aiming for a used car and expects absolutely nothing to be wrong with it, is fooling themselves severely. (Cars break; the auto-repair industry exists and thrives for that reason.) $700 is a lot to come down, sight unseen. Let her check it out, but be firm; not knowing the person she might come in expecting you to sell the car for 5 cents and a cold glass of water, and you don't want to be the person who sold their car for 5 cents and a cold glass of water.

Who's Laughing Now? August 21, 2014

Tell 'er to fuck off.

O' course, that's me talking, there, so... I dunno. I really have no idea why I commented at all.

Beagyoncé August 21, 2014

$700 is a lot to come down without even looking! I would at least try to negotiate higher, but that's just me.

AlexYourAlterEgo BeagyoncĂ© ⋅ August 22, 2014

Yeah, see my dilemma is that my car has been listed for a long time. My price is reasonable for similar cars, but obviously not cheap enough for it to get snapped up. Time is ticking and I am anxious to be rid of it. This is close enough to my asking price for me to be happy to let it go. I tried for a higher price for over a month and never got it. We shall see, anyway. The chick is getting the train for two hours to come and look at it, I am confident she will buy it.

BeagyoncĂ© AlexYourAlterEgo ⋅ August 22, 2014

Fingers crossed then! I know you're anxious to get it off your hands and be one step closer to your big move! xo

Miso Honey August 21, 2014

Accept the offer but be firm that the price doesn't drop any further. If the buyer trieds nitpicking, say you can sell it to someone else.

AlexYourAlterEgo Miso Honey ⋅ August 22, 2014

Absolutely agreed. I have had a few other people buzzing around, but not booking in to look at it. I seem to have picked the right price to get enough interest in it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.