it's 3:30am in Everything

  • Aug. 21, 2014, 2:35 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It's 3:30 in the morning and I can't sleep so I figured I would take this time to write an entry. Sleep is one of the few things I'm really good at, usually. I was an alternate on the US Olympic sleep team back in 84. But alas I can't always be on my game and once in a while sleep just won't happen.

So what should I write about? Well up here in my neck of the woods there is a big story about Market Basket. It's a supermarket chain and there is a power struggle going on in the family that owns it. The former CEO was fired by his cousin who know runs the company, it's a long drawn out family squabble, anywho the employees are all loyal to the former CEO and have pretty much refused to work for the new ownership. As a result the shelves are bare and the customers have started to shop elsewhere. Now I have a Market Basket pretty close by and I have shopped there a handful of times, it's not my supermarket of choice. It's crowded, dirty and the smell that comes from the deli counter is almost unbearable. The only draw is the lower prices, but they are not low enough to make me want to go there. Granted I'm single and so I'm usually spending less than $50 a week on groceries anyway. But the problem is that now my supermarket has been invaded by all those displaced shoppers. I have to weave my way through aisle after packed aisle of people looking at things and saying, to no one in particular, wow this is higher then Market Basket. They have also been out of some of my staple groceries too.Then waiting in kinda long lines at the checkout. I guess what I'm saying is I'm the real victim here.

At work they are starting more rounds of layoffs. I'm actually kinda worried this time, they are transferring most of the purchasing responsibilities to Mexico. Meaning they laid off a bunch of our purchasing staff. That makes no sense but I suppose customer service will be next and then I'll be looking for a job. That's never fun when you have absolutely no marketable skills (sleep studies maybe?). Oh and for some exciting news for the first time since my mid teens I am debt free! I paid off my car and credit card, made my last alimony payment to Sallie Mae (ya just turned 41 and finally am done with student loans). So I guess I'm in good shape to start what I can only assume will be a financial apocalypse if I get let go from my job. On the plus side I actually like cheap beer.


Deleted user August 21, 2014

Cheap beer is a decent start. By this rate I'll be 41 by the time I make my last payment to Sallie Mae...

red over red August 21, 2014

Woo hoo on debt free!!! Nate and I are working the Dave Ramsey total money makeover baby steps. We were doing really good until we decided to buy a house. Oh well, we should be totally debt free including the house by 2021.

Azrael August 21, 2014

Good job! I sure wish I was debt free! That MB stuff is crazy! Bostonians are a loyal bunch they won't go back until satisfied! But really there are not many other options are there? Other then stop n shop or trader joes..

Gurly239 August 22, 2014

CONGRATS on being debt free! That must feel so good. I remember the days... sigh now another six years of car payments and a house to buy for me. Someday maybe I'll be as free as you.

donut August 22, 2014

Life is too short to drink cheap beer! Here's to hoping you won't need to.

Deleted user August 23, 2014

Congrats on paying off all your shit! Now you can afford real groceries!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.