"Drea" in Someone Always Has it Worse

  • Aug. 20, 2014, 9:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Nick FINALLY responded to me...You know how I KNOW he remembers me?! He wrote "Thanx Drea, looking forward to seeing you again soon."

Not many people call me "Drea" ... I'm not a big fan of the nick name "Drea" (short for "Andrea")...

I let a fave of mine call me Drea for her own personal reasons (I so get it) and Nick (he never gave me a full explanation, but it's what he has called me since the 2nd time we met)...

So yeah, currently there are only 2 people I know and allow to call me "Drea."

The more I hear it the more I like it though (and I suppose I wouldn't fight it in the future)....

I probably wouldn't fight "Andi" either...The reason I didn't like "Andi" as a kid was because my Dad went by "Andy" and I was named after him (his full name is "Andrew" and "Andrea" is the female version of that).

As a young person/teen I did NOT want to be "Andi" after my Dad "Andy"....However, now that I'm older and wiser I see it as some sort of blessing...

A privilege if you will...To carry on the name "Andi" would be ok with me (assuming the people to call me "Andi" would be those who know my Dad as "Andy")...

Why do names have to be so complicated and personal?

Maybe it comes down to my love of Shakespeare...One of the first plays I ever read (of course) was "Romeo and Juliet" in which Juliet proclaims "

’Tis but thy name that is my enemy;
Thou art thyself though, not a Montague.

What’s Montague? it is nor hand, nor foot,
Nor arm, nor face, nor any other part
Belonging to a man.

O! be some other name:

What’s in a name? that which we call a rose

By any other name would smell as sweet;"


Ok so the recent texts are slightly off...If you read a REAL and authentic version you will see the term "Bittersweet" and NOT "sweet."


Anyway....It's confirmation he DOES remember me and it gives me hope that we'll one day embrace one another. I can't freaking wait!


Satine August 20, 2014

So glad he remembers. xx

paradiseFOUND August 20, 2014

Only my family and super close friends call me andee...it's like a privilege for them only.. My brother in law has started with the drea but I find it funny when he does and can't help but laugh...

It's Time For Me. August 21, 2014

So glad that he remembers you!!

Small Town Girl August 21, 2014

:)

Deleted user August 25, 2014

That is so great that you heard from Nick! Yay!

I'm pretty picky about not being called Angie. I effing hate when people call me that and they don't even know me or ask. I like Ange or Angela. Angie grates on my whole being.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.