New Toys in Life in General

  • July 25, 2023, 5:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Weight Loss

It’s going pretty well actually! I didn’t work out as much as I should have last week but I still got a couple in and I’m about to go outside and do today’s workout. I’m only stalling because I woke up not too long ago so I’m waiting for my coffee to kick in.

I’m currently at 220 exactly which is 12-ish pounds down (I don’t know where I started exactly, but I stepped on the scale one day fully clothed and it was 235 so I’m guessing with a few pounds of clothes on I was at 232.)

Anyway the weight loss is very slow but I’m seeing it go down so that’s mostly what matters.

I have really good days like today, and then some days it’s REALLY bad. Like horrible hunger pangs all day. That’s where I think stuff like ozempic would help me a lot. I know how to diet and I don’t need a drug to do it, but I’ve heard it really mellows out the hunger pangs.

I should be getting health insurance later this year finally, so I’ll be looking into it for sure. Especially considering how when I get closer to my weight goal, I usually give up when things slow down. I want to be in the mid 160s but I always give up at 180.

New Career

Anyway the house feels really empty without Jessica here all day. Basically for our entire relationship we’ve been together all day every day, minus the two years pre-covid when she actually had to go to school during the day. But even then her classes would often be half-days and such. So this is the first time ever where she’s gone most days all day.

I don’t like it. If I could do anything, it would be to earn enough money so we can just stay home together all the time. Maybe it doesn’t sound healthy to an outside observer, but we really are at our happiest being together alone at home. I’ve considered that maybe we’re just enabling each other to being hermits, but I guess it is what it is.

Nerd Stuff

Skip this if you don’t care about tech and video games lol.

Okay so anyone who read my last entry knows that I had a pretty bad thc trip and Jessica was so sweet staying awake with me to get me through it. Well I wanted to do something nice for her (but also nice for me some too hehe) and I got one of those ROG ALLY devices.

It’s basically a computer with the form factor of a nintendo switch. So you can play any PC game on the go (with the limitations of the fact that it’s handheld of course, it’s not gonna play them at max settings or anything).

There have been a few devices like it out there in the past, but they were either too cheap and made compromises with the build quality I wasn’t happy with, or they went the other way and were FAR too expensive for me to justify. The ALLY hits the sweet spot for me. It’s like $700 (which is still quite a lot of money of course) and has the 120hz display I want.

The main downside? THE BATTERY LIFE.

Holy shit this thing dies so quickly. Like, it makes sense why it does. They put a lot of power in this little device. But damn I wish battery technology would get better so things like this last for more than an hour.

It has a handy quick menu where you can set it to a “silent” mode which is another way to say “power saving” and that does help a lot, but the downside is you’re more limited on what it will run (like mobile games and such). I’ve been tinkering with it a lot trying to figure out which games run best on battery saver mode so I know what I am able to play if I’m away from an outlet for too long.

Anyway… I promise that while I love this thing too, I did buy it for Jessica. I couldn’t justify spending that kind of money on myself but I wanted her to have it. She loves playing this one games “Genshin Impact” (which I showed her btw and I remind her of that all the time when she doesn’t want to try something I’m suggesting lol), and it’s great because you can play it on PC, PS5, and mobile. And you can pick any system and pick right up where you left off.

Now Jessica has pretty severe ADHD and has always gotta be doing something, so during cutscenes of her game she either has her phone out playing candy crush or she’s watching a show on her laptop sitting next to her. So I figure.... why not set it up where she can just play the game on a mobile device that’s bigger and easier to use than her phone, so she can keep the TV free for either a show or me playing my games?

I was right.... she loves it. lol

She has been coming home every day just ready to veg out on the couch and play Genshin on the Ally while we watch 90 day fiance. I have also been playing Super Mario Galaxy for the first time, and that’s on the Wii so I have no other option than to take up the TV. Of course she’s always had this option to play on mobile or her gaming laptop, but on mobile the screen is too small and the laptop isn’t very convenient to setup in the living room. the Ally solves both of those problems.

Wrapping Up

Well I’m awake enough now I better go work out before it gets too hot outside! See you later!


Last updated July 25, 2023


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.