Generals Die In Bed in Back entries: 2013 - 2015

  • Aug. 19, 2014, 8:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is probably going to be a shorter entry than I normally do for book reviews. Got a busy day ahead of me.

Generals Die In Bed (208 pages) is the first person narrative about a young solder sent off to serve in the trenches of World War I. He finds his troop fighting for survival, with lice and rats for company. There are some scenes in this book that stuck with me long after I finished reading the last sentence - his killing a German solder with his bayonet (and then having to discharge his weapon to get it back) is one. His trying to describe how he feels later to a woman he meets, who responds with a smile “You silly boy. I thought you had really murdered someone”. (Page 132).

Like All Quiet On The Western Front, this is going to stick with me for a long time. A very haunting read.


Last updated January 01, 2015


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.