Back to vsg basics in 2022

  • July 11, 2023, 7:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

When I first had vsg surgery, I was super aware of all the food that went into my body. I had to be - when your gut is only 2-4oz, you must prioritize what goes in it.

While after these years, I’ve maintained the 125lb weight loss. I’m still a big girl. (insert positive affirmation here — I accept and love my body).

Back then, I had to set alarms to eat every two hours. I did not fully adopt the healthier choice making as a sustainable practice because well, potato chips and pop tarts are delicious god damn it.

Sometime/where in the two months or so, I’ve started thinking again about my body and the longer term impact carrying extra weight for so long has on my organs, joints etc.

So, what is happening?

~ I started one of the weight loss injections (wegovy - i’m not at a full dose yet).
~ I bought a food journal - which will be my health journal. I plan to document food, dr / dentist appointments, body movement, etc.

I’m not going to do a whole ‘I’m doing all the things’ related to wellness changes. I can’t, that is not sustainable for me and quite honestly, I find it SUPER overwhelming.

Deciding on an eating path is overwhelming — Keto? Low Carb? Weight Watchers? Like, how do I decide what to do???!!

Eating differently than my family is weird and stressful. Sauce (the gf) often fed Husband and herself during the first few weeks/months following my surgery.

Meal planning, shopping, cooking, clean up as meal prepping is overwhelming.

So, this week’s focus is small, simple things and thinking about ‘going back to the vsg basics’.
1. Vitamins: take your vitamins, bitch. It isn’t hard. You take all these other drugs daily, just do it.

  1. Water: drink your damn water like it’s your job and start EARLY in the day. When you wake up. Maybe you watertok the shit, maybe not.
    ~ Carry water with you EVERYWHERE, all the time.

  2. Prioritize the protein:
    ~ While eating real food is ideal, it’s ok to drink the protein drinks. Afterall, you lived on 5 of them a day for THREE whole weeks. you didn’t die, bitch. It’s fine.
    ~ A meal should be P-squarred. Protein and plant. It is that simple. (though my brain THINKS there should be a starch too, thank you mother and grandmother for that ridiculous idea).

  3. Hunger Recognition
    ~ Know the difference between brain and body hunger. Literally ask yourself - am I brain or body hungry?
    ~ You KNOW what your body feels like when it’s full. Listen, watch and feel for it.
    ~ Don’t eat when you are full or not hungry.
    ~ It’s OK to not finish everything on a plate. Your mom is not supplying your food. It’s your hot body, you can do what you want. No one gives a shit if you clean your plate or not. In fact, no one is paying attention to you.

  4. Open the food and wellness journal. If you want to write it down, do it. But don’t beat yourself up if you don’t. It’s ok, that’s not the focus for the week.

Maybe next week, we’ll talk about movement and meal planning. Maybe not, maybe we’ll do two weeks of simply things.


DefyingRules July 11, 2023

I did two months on Wegovy but then couldn’t get the higher dose I needed because of the shortage. I’m on saxenda now, though only the first week. Wegovy definitely helped curb my hunger.

Hope you are doing well on it!

rhizome July 13, 2023

Deciding on an eating path is overwhelming — Keto? Low Carb? Weight Watchers? Like, how do I decide what to do???!!

science says, none of these ideas sustain long-term weight loss. low carb/keto causes people to lose muscle more than fat, and causes angry mood swings. what you want to aim for is low-calorie density foods, like fruit and veg, unprocessed oatmeal, plus consistent aerobic exercise. the low calorie density foods come packaged with more fiber, vitamins, and water, and keep you full for longer.

i wish you the absolute best of luck with your health journey, whatever that looks like. you are amazing just the way you are <3

Deleted user July 15, 2023

VSG?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.