An Ode To Eyes (A Poem) in Short Stories And Poetry

  • Aug. 18, 2014, 9:40 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

by Randall Stuart

No one eye color

Is fairer than another

So here is the first verse

As dark as the universe:

Eyes of pure black

Cannot be held back

And as the onyx stone

In the priestly ephod shone

So treasured are black eyes

In the hearts of the wise.

As bright as the sky

Is the blue, blue eye

The picturesque sapphire

Could barely even aspire

To the beauty of your glint

You are the blue tint.

Green is the color of the sea

And the leaves of a spring tree

It is the eyes of the emerald jewel

That is mocked at by a fool

And the color of copper in fire

That fills the heart with desire.

Whether blue or brown or gray

Hazel is fine any old day

A color that can change with light

And raise the heart to a higher height

It fascinates the very mind

That God created its kind

Brown eyes are like chocolate pools

In the silly hearts of romantic fools

A cup of cocoa, creamy and hot

Sounds like a very delightful thought

I see them when I look in the mirror

And so to me they are the clearer

Each color of eye, I have exalted

But now I think I must be halted

And so this poem ends right now

And I'll step back and take a bow


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.