Gonna Work It Out in Meeting Mr. Jesus Christ

  • Oct. 6, 2014, 9:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have plenty to write about but I’ve clammed up again, nothin’ wants to come out, so I’m gonna just free write until it pours out naturally.

Took myself a five week vacation to the U.P. Though when the exact date was going to be I knew it was coming. And it did so on forty-five minutes notice. My step-daughter was on her way through the area returning from New Jersey and kindly snatched me up as she rolled by. I got a text, showered, packed, arranged for a person to watch the fish and was on the road for home in under fifty minutes. Whirlwind.

The first three days were opportunity for me to know my step-daughter as a grown woman and mother. We spent countless hours asking and answer questions for one another about Rory (her dad/my husband). Most of that was very healing, especially for her. For me there was some disturbance in the force. I found out things about my own husband, while I was married to him, that were amazingly contrary to what I believed to be true. Left me, after all these years of feeling reconciled to the good, bad and indifferent in our marriage, with feelings of betrayal, shock, hurt and love as well.

My step-daughter is a lovely woman, mother of three older teens and holding down the fort on her own since her husband died. She introduced me to her three younger brothers as her step-mom, I could see she was proud to have me in her life. My heart spilled over with the love I felt for and from her.

The following two weeks I spent with a woman who has been for lack of any other title my best friend in the U.P. for the past twenty-four years. I enjoyed some activities we did together while I was there. The family camper was my private lodging during that period. Something very not okay has changed and while I was there it became apparent no longer is this a friend.

I packed my bag and spent a weekend with a couple who’s friendship has been growing for the past twenty-five years. A quiet, earthy couple, we all enjoy being in the woods, hiking, walking the shores of Lake Superior and quiet, evening fireside chats. Mr. had just returned from a week long hike on Isle Royal and happily shared his observations and adventure of the trip with me.

I moved on to stay with “Baby Girl”, now a grown woman and mother of three. We lived together for many years when her father and I were dating and engaged. She was young then and has remained a part of my life all these years. In all I stayed with her family for twelve days, enjoying the roll of Nana to two year old Danny, helping care for him and giving his parents a break. Steve is just home not long ago from two tours in Afghanistan and Tiffany is recovering from a broken neck and a multitude of surgeries. It was a blessing to me that the Lord put me there then to help and give them time to be together.

I discovered I can still change a wigglin’ toddlers diaper, too.

That visit allowed me time to better know the two older boys as well. The eight year old and I had a slow start cause I booted his buddy from the house for having the worst mouth I’ve heard a kid have, ever. By the end of the visit we were crying over my leaving and missing each other.

Learned fast about why mother-in-laws need to keep their meddlin’ to themselves, or should I say why it’s hard to do so. What’s gonna happen will and nothing I had to say was going to change it. Instead I used my ears to listen, arms to hug, lips to say how I love them. Oh how I love them.

I called to check up on everyone a few days ago. I about crumbled when Booger (my pet name for Danny) kept saying “Nana? Love Nana!” into the phone. We hope to set up a skype soon. I think the phone thing is confusing for a two year old.

Step-daughter will be back downstate in another week. As always, the question of whether she will need to go to U of M hospital or not is unanswered. If she does Ryan and I will try to meet up with her.



Site Meter

web stats

find my ip


Last updated October 15, 2014


crystal butterfly October 06, 2014

It is sad to find a friend is no longer a friend. I am glad that most of the trip was good.

Tuff e Nuffy October 07, 2014

I have a saying about acquaintances and friends. "If you want me in your life put me there. I shouldn't have to fight for a spot." Remember unconditional love? It's real and demonstrated for us at the highest level.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.