Suggestion Box, Late Summer Edition in Suggestion Box

  • Aug. 19, 2014, 1:03 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m glad summer is coming to an end. I don’t really like summer. Maybe because I live in a desert.

But I do like this:

I know Prosebox is mostly perfect now, but if you have any suggestions, well, here’s the new box. ;)


Last updated September 30, 2014


Comments are closed.
Nash August 19, 2014

I think it is great as is, but wasn't there a reader's choice kinda thingy in the offing?

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm August 19, 2014

i'm happy here. quite satisfied to stay here for as long or longer than i was at open diary. take care,

EvequeFou August 19, 2014

I'll repeat being able to follow a writer but not follow all of their books. For you, for example, I want to see site updates and announcements, but not the random music videos. I suspect I have friends who want to read about my family, but not about my sex life.

You're making unsuspecting people read about sex! Shame on you! ;-)

Mercurial Muse EvequeFou ⋅ August 19, 2014

+1

Sapphire's Gaze EvequeFou ⋅ August 19, 2014

This!

simple mind EvequeFou ⋅ August 19, 2014

Ah, but what if I put random music videos in my suggestion box? It's quite a dilemma. :D

eucatastrophe. EvequeFou ⋅ August 21, 2014

Adding more voices in the "yea" column here. :)

sassafras August 19, 2014

Please, let me pay you so that I can reply to comments in the comments section!

moneypenny sassafras ⋅ August 19, 2014

Yes please!

Mercurial Muse sassafras ⋅ August 19, 2014

+1

hot-lips sassafras ⋅ August 19, 2014

I'd like this too.

Jeanine August 19, 2014

The only thing that could bring PB beyond perfection is a search entry feature. I don't need to search others' PBs, just my own!

perfunctory Jeanine ⋅ August 19, 2014

Oooh, yes!

Deleted user August 19, 2014

It'd be cool if you'd change just the very top bar with the comments, write, etc links to different seasonal themes or holiday themes, but keep it simple. That'd be really fun.

Also, editing notes after you post them would be awesome. Though only able to do that like two minutes or so after you post it.

Teflon Superhero August 19, 2014

might sound odd to implement, but is there anyway to add the 'preview' button to the floating bar? Sometimes I'll write a bit, add links, then hit preview to see how it looks so far or if I got it all right. I then have to scroll to the top of the entry, read, hit preview again, scroll back up. This might only be an issue with me as a quirk but I'll throw it out just in case. It's just laziness on my part, really lol.

synapse August 19, 2014

More specific privacy settings, such as the ability to sort friends into groups. Random button. And download/backup option, dammit!!

simple mind synapse ⋅ August 19, 2014

In case you missed it, the book download feature is already there (just go to the book main page, there's an export button at the top).

synapse simple mind ⋅ August 19, 2014

I did miss it!! Thank you! You are awesome.

RosesAreRed August 19, 2014

Age..

Deleted user August 19, 2014

Gif avatars. But then you have to bring your disco ball back. :)

Deleted user Deleted user ⋅ August 19, 2014

I love animated avatars :)

ThisIsME August 19, 2014

Pink panda in a pretty pink tutu? Umm only thing I can really think of unless I am over looking it maybe like a age/location thing by diaries names on their profile page of course a opt out button as well

Deleted user August 19, 2014

Custom backgrounds and the ability to search our entries. :)

I need tea. August 19, 2014

Who's Laughing Now? August 19, 2014

"Perfect"? Aah, what a joker you are.

Deleted user August 19, 2014

Community books for interests.

hot-lips August 19, 2014

Is there a way to upload our previous OD entries into a book yet? There can be an option to turn off all the new (old) entries flooding people's bookmarks. But I'd really like to have my life all in one place if possible. :)

MissMeg hot-lips ⋅ August 20, 2014

Yes I want a home for all my old OD entries!!! Too many times I want to search something I used to go back to OD for but it's all in a jumbled text/xml file on my computer somewhere.

MonK-E August 19, 2014

Android/iPhone app! I would love to see this be a thing!

Deleted user MonK-E ⋅ August 19, 2014

I can use this site fine with iOS. Just fyi. I post, comment, change info and everything.

MonK-E Deleted user ⋅ August 19, 2014

Yes I can use it as well with android but an app would be much handier for posting I could just directly get there.

Gonewiththebreeze August 19, 2014

I just want to say thank you for everything You've done already! Bring in the paid subscriptions :-)!

Deleted user August 19, 2014

Oh and I totally forgot, TAGS, they would be awesome. :)

And yes, please take my money.

Deleted user August 19, 2014

Thank you so much for all your work and communication.

I need tea. August 19, 2014

I have a question? My time zone is set to GMT but is always around an hour out. Is there a summer time option I am missing somehow? Xx

simple mind I need tea. ⋅ August 19, 2014

Are you on London time? According to my Google search:

London Time is the same as Greenwich Mean Time less than half of the year. During Summer Time (Daylight Saving Time), London Time is GMT+1, also known as British Summer Time (BST).

There's some city specific time zones in the settings for Europe. Have you tried any of those?

I need tea. simple mind ⋅ August 20, 2014

Yay thanks. I was being blind going straight to GMT. Xx

Everything Good Rebecca August 20, 2014

Starhawk August 20, 2014

I know that "Following" someone is supposed to be anonymous (and I am all for that staying just as it is), but it might be kind of gratifying to know HOW MANY accounts are following you.

Also would appreciate better search capability. For example when I heard that a diarist named "G" was doing Flash Friday, I had no way to find her diary. Searching on "G" is fruitless and there's no way to search on titles/contents as far as I can tell.

Deleted user Starhawk ⋅ August 20, 2014

Oh the number of ppl following is a nice alternative.

Deleted user Starhawk ⋅ August 31, 2014

Actually I chose a one-letter name so I was unsearchable, ungoogle-able, and pretty much invisible here. At some point when there are entry tags and maybe interest/community pages, this won't be a problem anymore. But for now, here's Flash Friday, you can either follow me or just bookmark the page:

https://www.prosebox.net/book/242/

Starhawk Deleted user ⋅ August 31, 2014

Well, your strategy works. I spent a few months wondering where the flashes came from, till I caught you posting on the front page.

NorthernSeeker August 20, 2014

It would be great to have access to more than 5 comments sent and received (I'm talking about the feature at the bottom of a writer's title page.)

It would also be great to have the conversation feature.

Deleted user NorthernSeeker ⋅ August 31, 2014

I'd like this too, though to keep the database query activity from loading down the server maybe the comments should be hidden behind a "Notes between you and this user" button, so the comments aren't automatically displayed when you view a profile page.

Deleted user August 20, 2014

You have done a great job with this site. Thank you. One request from me is to have a spell check option please!

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ August 21, 2014

You're welcome! I haven't bothered with spell check because it's built into all modern browsers now. Maybe you have it already and you just don't know it!

lua August 20, 2014

Please can you enable video embedding from Vimeo? I like to put video entries on but want to be able to use videos with a password function, you can't do that on YouTube and have put an 'unlisted' video up here only for someone public to find it. It'd be great to be able to embed Vimeo videos and just give PB users the password :) Thank you!

ThoughtsAfter August 20, 2014

How about spell chek--whoops make that spell check?

I admire your tenacity and feel good about this site.

Deleted user ThoughtsAfter ⋅ August 20, 2014

Your avatar is beautiful, however did you find it?

ThoughtsAfter August 20, 2014

It's my own slow motion photograph--so THANK YOU.

Deleted user August 21, 2014

I was thinking maybe we can be given the option to select an age range for our profiles. It would be nice to meet kids my age on this site.

Deleted user August 24, 2014

I want to unsubscribe to BOOKS of my friends' diaries. I don't need to read their entries about bondage and such. Is there something for that already? I don't know. Haven't been on in a month.

Reading_Blankie 📚 August 24, 2014

Yay for desert summer weather ending! Though, it's "monsoon season" over here which makes it more humid( I live in the desert too)

As for ideas? Well, all of the other kids in the playground did mention good ideas, but can we have a text size option? Or is that option in your different "themes"? I just like smaller text.

simple mind Reading_Blankie 📚 ⋅ August 24, 2014

Yeah, we've been getting the monsoon effect (Utah), and it's actually been a nice change having all this moisture (and a lot cooler too!). So relatively speaking I can't complain about this summer as much as I usually do - it's been unusually mild, with some extra humidity at times.

Reading_Blankie 📚 simple mind ⋅ August 24, 2014

Has Utah experienced "Haboobs"? I'm not sure if it is an Arizona( i live in AZ) term for a large dust storm or if it is an official label. Either way, it is fun to say!!

simple mind Reading_Blankie 📚 ⋅ August 25, 2014

No, I'm not familiar with that term. Funny word though!

MC Freckles August 25, 2014

I will just say that having the option of putting your diary in a 'circle'.. like 'birthing' or 'single mom' or '20-something'... would be nice. I've noticed NO ONE ever reads anything of mine because it gets bumped down the list too quickly.. so unless I comment on tons of diaries... no one will ever know im here.

An'yai MC Freckles ⋅ August 26, 2014

I was just thinking that same thing... a Communities or Circles option. I found, quite by accident, another random writer who was on etsy, and we spent a few hours sending tips back and forth, but it'd be really neat if we could find others easier. I'd almost say have it so that a book could be put in a specific circle with tags and such, but that's just a quick thought.

TellTaleHeart August 28, 2014

Do you have any sort of control over the ads that get displayed here? Because lately I'm noticing some are video ads, which start automatically playing... which is really annoying. But if it's out of your control, no big. :)

simple mind TellTaleHeart ⋅ August 28, 2014

Other than filtering out categories I find undesirable, I don't have much control. As someone who greatly dislikes auto-play video on the web, I'm not happy to hear that's been added in with the ads.

TellTaleHeart simple mind ⋅ August 28, 2014

OK... no worries. I find these auto play video ads especially annoying on my phone... even with my phone on silent, they still go off and scare the crap out of me (and give me away when I'm trying to surreptitiously play games at work, lol). :)

I need tea. August 30, 2014

Hiya. I noticed it is pretty easy to accidently remove friends. Could you maybe come up with something so it warns you? Xx

Deleted user September 10, 2014

Im not sure if there has been a consensus posted before one way or the other but I am really not a fan of the "books" format for organizing entries. Others may be and that's fine. Personally I would prefer if entries were organized simply by date.

This serves 2 purposes. I can check the diaries of others and easily read back through their recent thoughts or experiences. and it keeps things simple. I don't have to check different "books" and wonder which are timely and which aren't.

Also being able to add and sort by date makes it easier to post older entries in the correct sequence, rather than them seeming current.

Ad Astra Per Alas Porci. September 14, 2014

Email notifications when Friends post, or if someone comments/replies on something.

Deleted user September 17, 2014

Ok, I hate to sound like a complainer since I do love PB overall, but please, PLEASE get rid of the videos! Still ads are one thing but the vids are HIGHLY annoying when I'm trying to read something here.

Country Wife September 18, 2014

a way to write via mobile

invisible ink September 19, 2014

Hi SM...I am brand new to PB and started a book and wanted to write an intro entry and it will not save. it will type in nice enough and the preview button works but that is far as it goes. Any notions on why. The one thing it may be is that (here at work) they are using an older browser so I have no ability to leave a comment in youtube as an example so I am wondering if that same dilema is happening here. Weird how I could make a book but not post in it....

simple mind invisible ink ⋅ September 20, 2014

How old of a browser? The only browser I can think of where this might be a problem is Internet Explorer 6 (13 years old), which pretty much everyone has dropped support for these days.

invisible ink simple mind ⋅ September 22, 2014

I have internet explorer 9. I has to be something to do with the security system installed on the system. (Barracuda) It is strange how I can do everything on this site except save entries. Why does it allow me to enter book title and comments and replies but not the one critical thing....post entries...I bet I can post on my iphone it I tried....anyway thanks for the reply...

invisible ink simple mind ⋅ September 22, 2014

Got it fixed SM...just needed to update the browser....and by the way the format changed completely in my display so it is a nice layout from when you first started. I took a peek way back when and it is a different world here...my complements.

simple mind invisible ink ⋅ September 22, 2014

Thanks! Glad it's working for you now.

Sojourn September 27, 2014

I do like the prose box we have going on but yet as many others i do have a suggestion for the good ol box. could you make it so (and i believe Journal Community/In the Wire had this) when someone goes to your entry and reads it there is a list at the bottom saying 'so and so was here on timestamp' logged in users would be logged as there user name with it being a link to there journal and unsigned was just an IP address or something like that. I really miss seeing if anyone has stopped by and read my journal I would like to be able to return the gesture without them having left a note. There are many times i browse the front page and read but do not note other users. Just a way to read a few people who aren't always on the front page at the same time.

Sojourn September 27, 2014

oh another as I just scrolled way back to the top even tho i see a link now to my bottom right but still. how about making either the menu over there on the left of my page scroll independently or just smaller somehow so it fits on a page. Seems I do a ton of scrolling on this site to get past the notes to comment (also maybe comment box ontop of notes instead of below?) and then to get back up if i like say forget about said button that says 'back to top'

simple mind Sojourn ⋅ September 27, 2014

Just FYI, there is a "Leave a Comment" link above the comment listing that will skip right to the comment box without having to scroll through all the comments.

Comments are closed.