All moved in in Regular Stuff

  • Aug. 18, 2014, 6:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well I'm happy to say that we are all moved into our new home! The move itself went smoothly. My part in the move was minimal, mostly packing. I'm just not physically able to carry anything remotely heavy, especially up and down stairs. My daughter on the other hand, is amazing. She, her boyfriend and his 13 year-old daughter did it all. All the furniture, all the boxes, 5 hours of up and down three flights of stairs and then over here to unpack it all.

Can I just tell you how much I love this house?? It is so perfect for us. It has 3 good sized bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a smallish living room and dining room, a good sized kitchen (the biggest I've ever had) and a little laundry cove off of the kitchen. The star of the show is definitely the family room. It's built on and it's huge. It even has 2 small rooms off of it, each with a built in desk and one has built in shelves. The back wall of the room has a row of 6 Windows going all the way across, looking out into the back yard. I'm sure we will spend 95% of our waking hours in this room.

The back yard itself is a decent size, not too big and not too small. It has a patio right outside the door, surrounded by an L shaped brick wall which is about knee high. Just perfect for sitting. The yard itself has lots of trees which makes me so happy.

Okay here are some of the things I really love and then I promise to stop gushing:

The kitchen. I love how big it is and how much counter space it has. The counters are a beautiful cobalt blue.

I love the color of the cabinets and the hardware. Cabinets in apartments often don't even have hardware and I've always HATED that.

The refrigerator has an icemaker!! YIPPEE!

The little cabinet over the sink has stain glass looking doors. It's so pretty and there is a light underneath the cabinet, making it even prettier at night.

I love the patio, it's so pleasant to sit out there with all the trees.

I love the tile floor in the family room which extends into the kitchen. We do have area rugs but tile floors are a blessing with kids.

I love the recessed lighting in the kitchen and the track lighting in the dining room.

The faucet in the kitchen sink turns from steady to spray when you push a button. Hey, it's the little things!

The main bathroom has a rainwater faucet head. :)

I love having a car port. It has a big motion detector light so you never have to get in or out of the car in the dark.

I love my room. It's bigger than my last room but not too big. I like smaller, cozy rooms. And I have windows on 2 walls.

It's an older house with lots of updates, but still enough quirks to make it charming. I'm not sure if that makes sense but I will definitely post some pics. once I figure out how to do it.

The thing that pleases me the most is seeing how happy the children are. They love the backyard. Yesterday we hooked up the sprinkler for them to play in and they loved it so much. Later on, we grilled out on the patio. And they have plenty of room to play inside, with no worries about disturbing the neighbors. BLISS!

Things are not 100% perfect, there are a few things that are bothering me. Nothing big but I'll discuss them in another entry. I want to keep this one positive.

I feel so blessed and grateful.


Anaiss August 18, 2014

I'm so happy you are moved in and getting settled. It sounds really wonderful. There is no such thing as perfection in a house, unless perhaps if you have it custom built. So you have to love the good things (and it sounds like you surely do!) and just live with the bad (unless they are things you can change). I'm so happy for you all and can't wait to see pictures.

Deleted user August 19, 2014

YAY! So happy to see you in a place that serves you all so well. :)

Ferret Mom August 20, 2014

Moving is always a hassle, but that house sounds great!

Roseoftexas August 22, 2014

Yay, so happy for you♥♥

Sounds lovely:)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.