Cooper Yellow Lab 08/10/99 to 08/18/14 R.I.P. Old FRIEND in Misc. Thoughts opinions, the whole trash can.

  • Aug. 18, 2014, 11:08 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today is a sad day. It is also a happy day too.

I lost a good friend today, after looking everywhere at 600 am, in the yard, in the green belt, driving the neighborhood. The wife is upset, but hey we've had him since he was a puppy, in Southlake, TX.

Sunday 08/17
Typical day for 'ol Coops. He spent a cool 60 degree night dozing on the "lounge". There was a bet, who would go first Cooper or the Chaise Lounge chair. He would scratch and twirl on it. The fabric was getting "preeeety" thin. We sorta ate, this morning. We'd hunger strike from time to time, but what do you expect from an old 15 year old dog. He paced around the house most of the afternoon. More restless than usual. He ate a big bowl of browned bland hamburger, with rice and peas, that afternoon. There was nothing left of it. Outside to take care of business, and started pacing again. This continued non-stop for the rest of the evening.

I let him out about 945 pm. That was the last time I saw the hound alive. I tried to get him in, but he was patrolling the yard. I checked around 1245 he was on the lounge.

Monday 08/18
The wife got up at 445, and turned on the light. Cooper wasn't around. He'd come to the door, when he saw someone was up. At 545, she said I called him and sorta looked around, I didn't see him. I gulped a quick cup of coffee, and started up the block. Got in the truck and drove around. Asked a few people who were jogging and walking their dogs, if they saw and old Lab, wandering. I walked the green belt, from Venneford Ranch Road to Highlands Ranch Parkway, looking in the scrub and the arroyo that he might try to explore.

In the back of my mind, something is odd. The gates are shut. His hips are weak due to arthritis and old age. He couldn't have bolted. A pack of Coyotes..?? We have them here, but I wake up when I hear them. I didn't last night.

I called Douglas County Animal Control, and left a message. I was ready to take the path, and look around there. My wife called, check the window wells, since he had cataracts he may have fallen in. I checked the two out near the side of the house out front. Nothing, but there is one more, out in the back yard proper. Hard to get to and surrounded by low ground spreading junipers. Near the window well was a white dog. I called, but I knew he had passed. I hopped the low fence and he was dead.

I called the wife and said that I had found him. She came back home. I grabbed a blanket that she brought and gently removed him from the branches of the junipers. He wedged himself in there pretty well. We went to Animal ER, where they would dispose of the body, and call when the ashes are ready for pick up.

He'll go to Mile Post 49 near the South switch at Spruce, with Bear the Lab, who I laid to rest there in 2011. The both were fun dogs and a great honor and privilege to own.

Cooper near the end had health issues. Nothing that caused pain or discomfort, but the signs of an aging dog. Till the end, he had those puppy moments, that made ya think, he'll never end.

God Bless ya Coops ..

* photo photo_zpsba0c7848.jpg

  • A pic of the ol Coops in mid March 2014 during our Kitchen and family room remodel. He was a little over 14 and a half years of age. This was a Saturday, new bandana from the groomer. STYL'IN*

* photo photo2_zps9538fcc4.jpg

  • Early May 2014, at Susie and Alex's house. They'd watch him while we were at the wife's Gonzaga in Florence,IT reunion. He loved it there and they loved having him*

Last updated August 18, 2014


pandora August 18, 2014

He was a beautiful boy. I'm sorry for your loss.

Brakeshoe Bob pandora ⋅ August 18, 2014

Thanks Pandora ...

woman in the moon August 18, 2014

Sorry about the pup.

Brakeshoe Bob woman in the moon ⋅ August 18, 2014

Thanks I appreciate it was a good run

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.