Opportunities in Diary

  • Aug. 17, 2014, 6:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Friday I was off work. I was supposed to be at Alt-Fest with my sister, but it was cancelled so I kept the days off anyway, as I need to use them up before I leave in three weeks. So I took the opportunity to deliver leaflets. I looked on estate agents websites to find the expensive houses in my area and delivered my leaflets around there. I figure people with big houses will have more disposable income...! Leafleting is hard work, especially to big houses because there's further to walk. I was out for three hours and only posted about 200, and I came away with a bruise on the back of my hand as most new letterboxes are really stiff on the inside and have brushes inside them, so I had to stick my hand through to open it up.

I've also bought premium memberships for a few pet sitting directories, filled in an application for an association, started looking into a criminal background check and got some insurance quotes. More of the same tomorrow!



Last night we went to Nando's for Angi's 30th birthday. It's only been a few weeks since we last saw her but her baby bump suddenly seems to have popped out, she looks great.



Today at roller derby we did a bit of everything. It was a good session, if hard work. We had another go at 23 laps in five minutes and I only managed 21 this time; I got 21.75 last time. Sure, I fell over so that didn't help, but I've been practicing crossovers so that should have given me a bit of speed. The annoying thing is, we don't get to practice it very often, it's been about six weeks since I last tried it. Maybe I'll ask if we can try it more often, otherwise, how are we supposed to improve? I have another go at my safe to skate test a week on Wednesday.

Some of us had some photos taken today as part of a bid to get sponsorship from an energy bar. Here are all nine of them together:

And here's a close up of mine.



I've been applying for a couple of money making things that are a bit different. As I think my business will probably be quiet to start with, I'll probably have more time to do other things, so I've applied to have medical tests done on me, which could pay £1,600 if I'm accepted; I have a screening day on 27th August. And I've also applied to be a spooky actor for Hallowe'en at the West Midlands Safari Park. I would have to work evenings on every weekend on October, and that includes my birthday, but I think it would be fun and I might need the extra cash.

I like variety in life, and working behind a desk every day doesn't offer me that. Now I have the opportunity to do some more interesting and varied things :o)



10 working days remaining; almost into single figures!


Last updated August 20, 2014


~Twinkle~ August 18, 2014

Eek not long to go at work, how exciting! X

Deleted user August 18, 2014

Your plans sound really good!

Babe In Toyland August 18, 2014

Eep. I'm not sure about medical testing! Is it just cream and that or is it drugs? Howard did medical tests when he was about 19 and I often wonder if they have anything to do with his illness. Probably not, but the niggle is there!

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ August 18, 2014

Mainly they're just testing asthma drugs, but they want people with healthy lungs!

Miso Honey August 21, 2014

Hopefully the sponsorship works out for you ladies! You look great in the pic, btw!

Lucretia August 24, 2014

I love 9Bar, my fave energy food by a long stretch (especially the pumpkin one). Fingers crossed you get the sponsorship.

I hope the leafleting gets you some work x

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.