Luke's Afghan in Crafts

  • Aug. 17, 2014, 3:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Our beautician has a huge family. She and her 2 sisters and brother all have at least 4 children each, many of them more. One of her sisters had 3 daughters and then twin boys. The last of July one of the 4 year old twins drowned at a family reunion. There were adults in the pool when they noticed Luke at the bottom of the pool. They revived him but he died less than a week later. It was very sad. Cap asked me if I could make a prayer shawl for Cindy, our beautician, and her children. I decided that an afghan would be better so the kids could cuddle up in it when they are needing comfort. So I made Luke's afghan.
Luke's Afghan
I hope you can see Luke's name in filet crochet in the middle of the afghan. Then I made bright squares that have 3 different heart patterns in them. When I went to Big Stitch last month I learned a new method of attaching the blocks to each other as I make the last row of each block so I used that method and I loved it! It made it so much easier to attach the squares.

We went for haircuts on Thursday and I gave it to Cindy. She asked if I made if for her o her sister (mother of Luke). I told her I made it for her and her children. She teared up and thanked me, saying it will be a comfort. I hope it will be. It was fun to make and made up pretty fast.


Beret August 17, 2014

That is beautiful! And yes, I do see his name. What a thoughtful thing for you to do!

Anaiss August 17, 2014

The afghan is just beautiful. I am sure it will bring comfort to the family. I can't imagine the pain of their loss.

Ragdolls August 18, 2014

Beautiful afghan. Thoughtful & kind remembrance.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.