Another Day In Paradise in Ultimate Randomness

  • Aug. 17, 2014, 1:55 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had to look to make sure I hadn't used that title yet, and by some miracle, this is the first time I have used it. Wow. Anyhow, I really do intend this to be a fairly brief entry. Not a whole lot has happened since the last one. If you caught my last entry in Brief Thoughts, you have seen what I am sure most people have heard about Robin Williams, namely that he had just found out that he was in the early stages of Parkinson's Disease. So what does that have to do with me? Well, I have family histories of heart disease, cancer, and Alzheimer's on top of having had a grandmother who had Parkinson's herself. The only thing I have going for me is my mind and the thought of having that slowly get away from me on top of having depression makes me think I very well could end up exactly like Robin Williams. The possibility of that happening scares me greatly. But what can I do? If it happens, it happens.

In any case, I have been a little more cheerful in the last few days. Lately, I have been contributing to a Facebook group that talks about professional wrestling, one of my interests I know I have mentioned in the past. While I won't try to explain exactly what I have done in terms of my posts, I will say that I have been able to come up with some things that I have posted that have been very well received and have been pretty funny. At least one of the administrators has found my posts funny and I even got post of the day. It's not much, but it does make me happy to make people laugh some.

The only other thing I had to add is that I finally have figured out how to explain my feelings about the coworker at Pizza Hut that I truly dislike. The best comparison that I can make is that I feel the same way about him as I, as well as millions of other people, felt about Dolores Umbridge from the Harry Potter books. If you don't know what that means, it should suffice to say that there is no torture too foul and no act too heinous to be committed on such a person. It is fair to say that is about the same I feel about my coworker. It is that same type of visceral dislike, even hatred, of another person that comes from a person who is not a good person and who gets away with anything they want to the point of it being extremely unfair and detrimental to everyone else. I truly feel that there is nothing so bad that could be done to this man that I could feel he did not deserve it. A large part of that is just the guy himself, but the part that exacerbates the issue is how my general manager treats this guy like he is a gift from God. He somehow has it in his head that this guy is his best worker even though the guy steals from him...and he knows it! He knows it because most of the rest of us have told him. But instead of dealing with him, he blames his problems with food cost on other employees. And this guy's personality is like that of a used car salesman combined with that mechanic that purposely screws up your car so you have to pay him to fix it. Trust me when I say that anyone who is not a complete asshole douchebag would feel the exact same way about him after being around him and my store enough. It is enough to drive a person nuts. And it is so far past the point of being able to just shake it off and ignore it. Honestly, if I had the conversation I had with my GM about him and said the things I said to any of the other managers I have ever had in any job, it is highly likely he would be watched closely and probably fired if he hadn't been fired before I had to say anything. I mean, there was a point a few months after he had been hired that my ex and I had serious discussions trying to decide whether or not this guy was even able to read. I think that should say everything really. Hopefully anyone reading this can understand what it does to a person to have to work with a person like that multiple days a week. Anyhow, that should cover everything for the time being. Hope anyone reading this is doing well and I hope you haven't had to deal with half of what I have going on. Good night to all.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.