Accident in JabberWokie

  • June 18, 2023, 12:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

emphasized textOne week ago on Sunday one of my sisters and I and our mom went to St. Paul the the plant/flower conservatory and Como Zoo. It was a nice day although breezy, good for me but a lil’ windy for my 93/94 year old mom. My daughter and me and mom were there 2 years ago in May. The grounds/garden and zoo have been let go by a noticeable about 30 percent. I’m guessing it is due to funding or mis management. Mom stated she was ready for some ice cream when we left.

We stopped at Dairy Queen just across the border in WI. I just wanted a chili cheese dog. We ate in the parking lot and mom was working on her Butterfinger blizzard when we headed out back home. Traffic came to an abrupt stop in that border town on the interstate and my sister was able to stop and I was just telling her to watch our back end and was restating it when I heard SMACK and saw smoke and fireworks in my head. It was awful. I felt my spine pushed into my head, awful noised proceeded out of my mouth as my breath was pushed out of me in compulsions. After that happened sporadic screams came out of me for probably a half hour.

I was sitting in the back seat driver side, my sister driving her car and my mom in the passenger front. Well I ended up with concussion, whiplash, 3 broken ribs and a possible fourth, lower back pain, neck and head pain. Its been a ride this week. My mother was in a daze and couldn’t remember the accident and has been to emergency twice with lower back and leg pain, sister has a concussion and whip lash. Me and sis have nausea and dizziness. I get headaches. and if my mom wasn’t so old she would be able to express/describe all of her symptoms I suspect. They should have a check list for auto accident people to check off what they are experiencing. I am sure that is a big industry no no as big business/corporate greed doesn’t want verbally challenged people to be able to identify their pain/problem list due to lawsuits. Makes me sick.

Who hit us was a Deputy. Law enforcement smacked into us and pushed us into then next vehicle. I’m glad they have insurance, as my sister does. I have been in mishaps before and never sued, but this time I’ve been seriously hurt. Some of the head fog has subsided and I can think clearer at times but this goes in and out as I have many other symptoms. I went to the Physical Therapist who gave me three exercises (gentle) to try to desensitize the sensitiveness of it all. Anywho, bored of talking of this and time will tell.

I had been preparing my potted haven outside my house and just about ready for the 2023 reveal. This is my favorite time of the year. This used to be my favorite Day of the year, but I cannot do all in a day any longer and I began my plant journey the Friday before Memorial day weekend. I don’t have my garden in ground this year so it is all potting. Praying for rain in this neck of the woods. It rained one day last week and it helped, but not since then. Later this afternoon is a 50 percent chance of rain and then the outlook is terrible heat for about a week or more. I have to cover my plants on these hot hot sunny afternoons or they would fry. I am lucky I am not working all the time or they would already be friend. Hopefully will post pictures soon. I have flowers planted and two pots of tomatoes and two pepper plants in one pot. (poblano).

This year’s garden knowledge brought me awareness that Ancho Peppers and Poblano peppers are one and the same. Poblano are when they are Green and when they turn Red and are dried it is Ancho. Also I learned that there are two types of mums (Chrysanthymums) if they say Garden Mums in their name they are perennial otherwise annuals. Soon I will learn about pruning tomato plants. My 9 yr old Grand son has been helping me fetching water and carrying it to the plants. He helped me deadhead and clear away brown stuff and I’m teaching him the name of plants. I do need help with my inside African violet that is not thriving. I have to read about them…

With the Grands today while mom and dad hang on the river for a while. They were going to go on the tube float (here it is called the annual FatFar, a drunken tubing outing for the area, but decided to boat for a while instead. Time to read the animal identification book with pip. Later we will go visit mom and check on her....

Have a wonderful Blessed Day All


JustSurviveSomehow June 18, 2023

Oh my goodness that is so terrible. I am so sorry this happened to you! Definitely contact a personal injury firm and get all the medical treatment that you need. They work on a contingent fee and will get nothing until/if they get a settlement for you. And just to clarify, making a claim against an insurance company does not necessarily mean that you are suing them. You only sue them when/if you are back to your pre-accident status and they refuse to pay for your medical treatment or pain and suffering. And your lawyer will determine that with you prior to proceeeding. (I work for a PI firm.) Best of luck with it all, and I hope that you start feeling better soon.

The Tranquil Loon JustSurviveSomehow ⋅ June 18, 2023

Thank you

Jinn June 18, 2023 (edited June 18, 2023)

Edited

Do not be like me ; I only saw a APN and she did not order an MRI of my spine until I woke up a few days after the wreck and could not stand, walk or use my arms. I had eight vertebral fractures that were totally missed.By the time they found them they could not heal correctly and I was 100 percent disabled. We did not sue and pretty much lost all our assets trying to get me treatment. The person who hit us did not have insurance and he walked almost scot free. I will cope with the damage the rest of my life. Make sure you are ok. If you have pain make sure they do all the tests . Get the treatment you need and make sure they pay for it .

The Tranquil Loon Jinn ⋅ June 18, 2023

thank you for the advice.

Jinn June 18, 2023

I am so sorry you and your family got hurt !

DE_KentuckyGirl June 18, 2023

How horrible for you and your mom and sister! How has the department handled this? Generally, in the experiences I've seen when law enforcement hits someone, they take care of the people. I've seen it twice in the last year with 2 different police departments in 2 different states and they made everything right. How is it going for you all? I hope you all get restitution and also heal.

❤️vee June 19, 2023

I used to live very close to the Como Zoo and honestly haven't been there in a few years.

That sounds terrible about your accident!! I hope everyone is doing well soon!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.