Hospice in Just in Case

  • June 17, 2023, 8:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So much in a week.
Mama has started hospice. Technically it’s for “failure to thrive”. She just won’t eat. She’s weak, sleeping a lot, that sort of thing. The admissions nurse told me we weren’t at end of life, but that we needed to prepare, because that’s the path we’re on. We’ve met the nurse, the minister, and the social worker. We haven’t met the cna yet, because we had an appointment to get new hearing aids for Daddy. She was supposed to come today to shower Mama. Didn’t happen because we have been without power since yeast night.
Which brings us to the next thing. I had the “brilliant “ idea that since there was no electricity , the generator wouldn’t work, AND there was a eat advisory- we would spend the night at the local hotel. Everything goes ok for abut 3 minutes. There’s no tv, because the cable is out, so Daddy is frustrated. I go back to the house to get their Kindles. I bring them to them, and go back to my room. I settle and get ready for a peaceful night. Then the phone rings. It’s Daddy. Mama is on the floor. (Back story - I was told they would have a handicapped room. They didn’t. I had suggested bringing the potty chair. Daddy said it was just one night. I agreed. So, he had to bring her to that hotel room bathroom. Which is tiny, with a horribly slick floor. It’s ok. She slid down, but isn’t hurt. She’s just in a bad place. I can’t get her up. So Daddy and I work together, and we’re getting her…..until Daddy slips and fall (dropping Mama). He ends up with a terrible skin tear. (Like 3 inches of flapping skin). Mama has a small tear on her arm, but seems ok. I call my sister because Daddy says no to calling for help. She agrees with calling 911. They fix Daddy’s arm and help Mama up. Free talking to her, they encourage her to go to the hospital. No breaks. Thank God! That moment when I’m trying to catch Mama and trying to stop Daddy…. It’s why I’m not sleeping. Nightmares. So I get to call hospice and explain what happened.
And the power is still off.


Jinn June 17, 2023

It may become too difficult to keep her at home. If your hospice is anything like ours ; we kept my mom at home and the hospice nurse came once a day to make sure she was being cared for and to bring meds. We did not have a CNA so I did all the bedside care. It was very hard and I think most family members could not do it adequately . Since I am a nurse it was harder for me emotionally than anything else. My Mom and I were not that close but still to see her reduced to being bedridden and helpless was very hard. She was out of reality most of the time due to morphine so that was kind of a blessing. She also stopped eating . I tried everything she thought she might want but the most we could get down her was a couple bites at any given time. I think subconsciously they stop eating as they are leaving.. All you can do is try to get her to take a few bites but if she won’t , she won’t.
It’s so frustrating trying to do anything with no power. Hugs to you and I am keeping you in my prayers.
Vent here all that you need to . We are listening and are glad to do it .

Jigger June 17, 2023

This is too much to ask of one person. I’m glad your sister backed you up there. I hate that you’re having to do this pretty much alone.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.