living situation complications in The Daily (2014)

  • Aug. 16, 2014, 12:04 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

quick entry because I am wanting to get an early bed and shit if stressful.

for those of you I don't have on facebook, Liz and I are potentially facing having to move again. Our landlord has proven to be, uhm, completely crazy. She over-works herself and so she has crazy mood swings. She calls us flipping out about every single tiny thing that goes wrong with the place and then calls later to apologize because she was "moody". Last week, she slipped a note under our door detailing all the things we were doing wrong as tenants. Completely ridiculous stuff, like that we shut the cupboards too loud. Apparently. This despite the fact that we have been putting up with a rat and then mouse infestation since the day we moved it, that the door to the bathroom won't shut, and the bedroom stinks like must and kind of gross and musky possibly from the rodents, and the main door isn't flush to the door so when you close it you have to lift it and that is how Liz ended up breaking the door knocker which she then called and yelled at her about.

She was supposed to meet us today but she said she was sick so she couldn't make it. She mentioned she had baked us some brownies. She is soooo up and down in terms of how she sees us.

Anyways, We are thinking about asking her if we can get out of the lease. I don't know if she will go for it. If not, we might just move in October anyways and accept the loss of the deposits.

So, here's the tension. We have 3 options:

1) Stay here and deal with the constant anxiety I am feeling as a result of her mood swings as well as the mouse infestation. It also might be a stretch to live here in Septmeber since Liz got her student loan assessment for her program and it basically only covers the cost of the tuition. I earn 2000 in a month if I don't miss any shifts and rent is 1000 here. So that is tight.

2) Move into another place with lower rent and lower amenities. This is really only possible if we get our deposits back because we can't afford to put a desposit on a place right now.

3) Move into Liz's parents basement suite, which they have offered us. This would mean 1000$ a month less in expenses. I could even drop to 3 or 4 shifts a week so I can start looking for professional work if I wanted to. It would be a lot easier financially. However, It would also add about 30 minutes a day to my commute to work and we would have to share the kitchen with her parents for the first few months. And the biggest consideration- we would need to find someone who could take care of Percy for up to 10 months, which is a loooot to ask. I really don't want to rehome him because I don't think he is very easily rehomable (he is really nervous) and also I love this cat. He is my baby. But her parents will not compromise on the "we do not want cats in our home" thing. Sigh.

Any thoughts, dear readers?


wandering thought August 16, 2014

Talk with someone at the tenant board. I had to do that a lot in Vancouver. Even threatening it to a landlord usually got the issues resolved. We had some psycho landlords too.

theocean. August 16, 2014

I was all for the third option until the cat part, :(. Otherwise, I'd at least look around for other options... Your landlord sounds like she's allllllll over the place.

MemoryFails August 16, 2014

Oh hun.. not good. I am so sorry yall are goin thru this!! :( I wouldn't wish this sort of thing on anybody. I know how horrible it can feel to have your home become something that is a stress in your life. (huge hugs)

Mercurial Muse August 17, 2014

I would also talk to the tenant board. It could help you get your deposit back so that you could look for a place with lower rent so you can keep the cat.

Blackout Girl August 17, 2014

Thats a tough one. I think moving in with her parents sounds best. You would save so much more money. But your cat! That's tough. See myself I'm not a fan of cats so I don't know the love you guys have for your cats but say you did find someone to keep the cat for 10 months would you consider to move in with her parents? Plus you could get a real job!!!!! You work oh so hard, your smart and I think you honestly deserve a career that's going to make you happy and help you stay financially stable

Miso Honey August 21, 2014

Ah, crap. Sorry to hear about the situation. Maybe try for #2 or see if you can dig up a roommate?

Also, I forgot to mention, but I sent the sweater, but it got returned :(

Nomad of the North August 22, 2014

An unfortunate conundrum. Saving money at Liz's parents would be great if you can find a place for Percy and think you could make it work...which I guess only you two can be the judge of.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.