Meanie - 16.08.14 in Your Face

  • Aug. 15, 2014, 10:14 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Two of my friends regularly make comments on Facebook about missing their partners, who do fly-in-fly-out work. My friend in Santa Fe is interstate for two days and his parter is posting soppy "I miss you" messages all over his page.

It makes me turn into a raging psychopath because I HAVEN'T SEEN MY HUSBAND IN TWELVE AND A HALF MONTHS, YOU ASSHOLES! I know one other person in the same situation, and I've even surpassed her greatest time apart from her partner. Fuck, can any of you even comprehend what it's like? A year. A whole fucking year without your other half, missing out on those every day things, thoughts, hopes, ideas. None of that. And every single person telling you, "It'll be okay, you'll be back together soon, just hold on." You've got to be kidding me. I know you're just trying to help, trying to comfort me, but I'd rather you didn't. That's why I don't want to talk about it to anyone - there's no point. It's not something that many can understand.

And so then I feel like a huge jerk, because it's not a damn competition. Those two days or four weeks feel like a year to those people, and it hurts them the way I am hurting. They're just trying to express it, and they're entitled to.

I need to remember that: It's not a fucking competition.


Deleted user August 15, 2014

I would just DIE not seeing my husband for that long. I totally understand you on that one.

AlexYourAlterEgo Deleted user ⋅ August 15, 2014

You wouldn't die. You'd find yourself waking up to a new day, and not having any choice but to see it through. Time goes on, whether you like it or not.

nothinglikeyou August 16, 2014

I couldn't imagine....that bloody sucks.
You have the right to feel anyway you feel, especially angry.

AlexYourAlterEgo nothinglikeyou ⋅ August 16, 2014

Agreed. And I recognise that others are allowed to feel that way, even if they're dealing with a shorter time than I am.

Deleted user August 16, 2014

I agree 100% All of those "helpful" comments can be more hurtful than people realise. My most hated is "I'd love to have all that free time to myself." And even though it's not a competition you do have it far worse than me and I do admire your strength

Deleted user August 16, 2014

I can't imagine what its like. It would suck. I'd get mad at everything too.

Miso Honey August 21, 2014

It's tough...

You are on the right track. They are not trying to outdo you. They probably could stand to tone it down a bit, though.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.