Life Seeeps Back in The Common Room

  • Aug. 15, 2014, 2:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Bit by bit life seeps back into this old body. I am now able to say, "I am better." I've been weaning off the oxygen . Three days ago, Husband and I went to Olive Garden and I didn't take the tank in, nor did I use the walker. I did hold to his arm, which I won't do again, because he lurches and throws me completely off balance.

Two days ago, I went outside without the tank, sat on the low stone wall and trimmed the jasmine away from the decorative stones in front of my little statue. It took an hour to do ten minutes worth of work, but I did it. I cam in and showere and had no repercussions.

I haven't slept with the oxygen for a week.

Today, I'm going to Home Depot (only about a mile from home) and buying light bulbs for my bathroom and looking at fall flowering plants . Last winter, with no one here to care for them (I was in hospital) my winter blooming plants all died. I'll take the tank in case of emergency, but go into the store without it. There are carts, so I won't take the walker in either.

Anyone been tethered by a plastic leash in your nose to a bottle or machine for 6 1/2 months? How freeing to be with out it. Not to mention the rash I got from the plastic canula always rubbing across my ears and throat.

I'm trying to consider this period as rehab, although I have not been declared in remission and the heart thing will never heal. I cope with a lot of light-headedness from those meds that regulate my heart. Still, my body is more my own than it's been for years and, even with the weakness from not moving for so long, I move more easily than in many years.

Yesterday, I was doing some clearing out of my closet; getting rid of some super-sized things bought in the last months before I flat-lined, and tried on a few other things that were hanging around. I had a completely ecstatic time discovering that all those things fit perfectly - work and dress clothes from the 90s to 2004. I've always favored the tailored and classic lines, not fads nor fashpns, so these clothes are fine to wear now. I was very happy and laughing about it until Husband, who could suck the joy from a child's first birthday, asked me where I would wear them, "the grocery store?" He's right. I will not have occassion. Still, it's nice to have a closet full of things that fit. Oh well.

I re-read the obove paragraph and it sounds as though I'm a conservative dresser. Perhaps you should know that I combine those classic togs with the wildest jewelry I can get my hands on.

For example, here's my ancient hand/arm with a couple of my favorites::

alt text

Going to shower now -- just me -- no wedging in a funky tank - no plastic tube messing with the shower curtain -- no trying to wash my face with stuff in the way -- just me and the hot wter and soap. Joy


Last updated August 17, 2014


patrisha August 15, 2014

I am so glad for you! I have never had the inconvenience of having to drag that stuff around with me, but Fred did. It was not for anywhere near as long as your six-and-a-half months but he was thrilled to be able to cope without it.

Deleted user August 15, 2014

Yay for you! So you are weaning your way off the oxygen while I am weaning my way off the chill pills. Trying to anyway. :) Love the bracelet.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm August 16, 2014

yes, you can wear those clothes to the grocery store and anywhere else you choose to go. don't let your hubby pee in your cheerios. make plans to go out and wear them. with the way people dress these days, i'm sure the people who work in home depot would be pleased to help a well dressed older woman. i LOVE your jewelry. i don't have anything near as beautiful but i do wear several bracelets on each wrist when i go out. i want them all to be seen. love accessorizing differently. take care,

Ragdolls August 17, 2014

So happy for you! Where those clothes where ever & whenever you choose! Lovely jewelry, too.

I'm an Okking Fool August 18, 2014

This is all such good news!! I am SO happy that you're feeling better and able to do things without the oxygen tank!

Psh, you can wear those clothes wherever and whenever you want. If you're in the mood to wear some classy clothes while grocery shopping, go for it! And if you want to wear PJs and a robe out to dinner, more power to you! It's all about doing what makes you feel good :)

Gorgeous jewelery!

Everything Good Rebecca August 19, 2014

It's nice to have confirmation that what I perceived from here as improvement really has been you growing stronger and getting back to your real self! I'm so glad about that, and especially glad you no longer need to have the oxygen tank with you as much, although I'm still thankful you had it when you did need it! Welcome back!

ThoughtsAfter August 20, 2014

After seeing my husband's struggle I want to dance a jig for you to be doing these things. Wouldn't that have been grand were we together? Me dancing a jig for you and you trying on clothing you can now wear again. Grumpy old men we'd evict immediately, of course.

Hope the trip was all you meant it to be on your outing.

Marg February 14, 2016

'Could suck the joy from a child's first birthday' - loved that! Also that jewellery is spectacular - so beautiful - and reading its history in your subsequent entry made it even more so!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.