Cats and Dogs in General

  • June 12, 2023, 10:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Funny phrases that come to you. In all officers meetings and all aircrew meetings at the end of the meeting the skipper would call out “Cats and Dogs.” That was everyone’s opportunity to chime in with issues that didn’t fit neatly into the buckets discussed during the meeting.

I took today off. Been planning to for a few weeks. Today was the day I was supposed to get the ball rolling, the contract signed and leaning into the freight train of owning the condo aka townhome I have lived in for 13 years.

Today has been all cats and dogs. Calling the bank guy who points me to the real estate agent who tells me she is very busy today with some big meeting and probably won’t get to me until tomorrow.

Minor panic setting in as every townhouse that goes empty is immediately under contract. I want one of those “under contract” signs in my yard – just so I know where the hell I’m living next winter.

I have dozens of patches I need sewed onto my flight jacket. The dry cleaner on Maine Street has a seamstress that can do the job, but the guy who answered the phone sounded very non-committal.

I called MCF – Maine Coastal Flight. The pandemic caused them to collapse their business back to Bar Harbor. I talked to Vickie (who is a total hottie but married to Eric) who said she would talk with Eric about my request. On my birthday I want to fly their Cirrus SR-22. Bar Harbor is a 2 hour drive, but fuck it. The Cirrus is as close to the glass cockpit we had at the end of my Navy career. I can drive a few hours to fly again. I’d rather fly with Earl – because that guy let me do anything I wanted to do.

Bar Harbor to Lisbon to Freeport to Portland up the coast past the beaches and back to Bar harbor. A buck fifty in flight time. It’ll probably cost me 500ish bucks. But how many times do you get 61 trips around the sun?


Jinn June 12, 2023

Only once !
I hope you get that contract done !

Sassy June 13, 2023

I hate limbo.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.