Brilliant idea I just had in Site Updates

Revised: 08/13/2014 10:02 p.m.

  • Aug. 13, 2014, 7:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

OK, so I just wrote an entry about "jeremy wade shirtless" being one of the top search terms for Prosebox. I wrote the entry because it's funny, but it has led to some interesting comments that have sparked an idea.

It's true that Prosebox's SEO (search engine optimization) currently leaves a lot to be desired. New people really have no way to find us unless a friend refers them.

At some point I do plan on investigating advertising. That, along with a paid subscription option (it's still on my list! I'm going to do that!) will be a great way to build the site further.

Meanwhile, I would like to make an offer to those of you who have a public blog outside of Prosebox (e.g. Blogger, Tumblr, etc.) and don't mind sharing information about Prosebox. I know that many of you would figuratively die if people found out you were on Prosebox, and I completely respect that (it comes with the territory - anonymous writing site and all).

But for those of you who are less private, here's the offer:

Write a blog entry about Prosebox including a backlink, and I'll give you six months without any ads.

RULES

  1. The entry should be mostly positive. While I don't mind you objectively reviewing Prosebox and mentioning deficiencies, purely slamming the site doesn't really help me out.

  2. The entry should have a decent amount of effort associated with it ("Check it out, Prosebox yo!" is a bit weak)

  3. Include a good backlink. Backlinks are links that not only give readers of your blog a way of clicking and bringing up the site, they also help with search engine optimization. Google will see links to Prosebox and think, "Hey that must be a cool site; I shall place it higher in my search results.

    The text of the link itself should be a good search term for potentially finding the site, and it should link to https://prosebox.net ("Prosebox" is not the best text for the link). Imagine that you have never heard of Prosebox, but you're searching Google for a new place to write. What term would you use? An example might be "writing community". Or "online diary". I leave that up to you. Just use that term as your link text. For example:

    Prosebox is an awesome writing community where you can meet new people and share your life.

  4. UPDATED FOR CLARIFICATION: This should be written on a site that is NOT PROSEBOX. I'm looking for external entries, not Prosebox entries. Sites like Blogger or Tumblr would be ideal, or your own custom blog.


And that's it. You can leave me a comment (private or public) and link me to your entry. If you've sufficiently met the requirements above, I will happily tack SIX MONTHS of ad-free Prosebox joy on to your account. Scratch my back and I will scratch yours.

I would also like to write an entry showcasing these blog entries, so be sure and let me know if you would like to be included (I assume some extra traffic to your blog is a good thing?).

Thanks and have a great day.


Last updated August 13, 2014


haredawg drools August 13, 2014

Um, I link things I like on prosebox to facebook accounts, that's a lot of people and the lot of people that they don't really know either. I mean there's a lot of really good stuff that's just stuff on prosebox and a link to that shows how it operates in it's function rather than something that looks like a promo, just saying, good idea, for those squeamish of a tumblr promo there's just links to good blogging/journaling/shirtless wading.

simple mind haredawg drools ⋅ August 13, 2014

I DO appreciate the Facebook shoutouts; heck, if you want to negotiate some ad-free Prosebox for your support just let me know. :)

Hopefully the blog entries I've described are a bit more personal than that. I would like people to share personal experiences and what it is about Prosebox that keeps them coming back.

haredawg drools simple mind ⋅ August 13, 2014

Oh no no no just wanted to put that out there for all the brilliant people who read your journal and sometimes read the notes. No I'd rather more people did that as the notion struck them than claim that notion as my right to a seat at the table. Heh, but thanks.

An'yai simple mind ⋅ August 20, 2014

So, would a facebook shoutout qualify? I have a lot of my old OD buddies on my facebook, and I don't know if any of them know about prosebox.

Don't worry, it'd be more than "Prosebox rocks!" Even though it does.

simple mind An'yai ⋅ August 20, 2014

Sounds good to me. Depending on your privacy settings, it can be harder to confirm than a public blog entry, but letting those old OD friends know about the site would be very cool.

haredawg drools August 13, 2014

I haven't slept much in the last forty eight hours. So I don't remember how many notes I've just posted, but they are either rubbish or genius, I'm sure.

cricket_factor August 13, 2014

It's necessary, isn't it, that the entry is public? Or will you take the entry and do with it what you will? ;)

simple mind cricket_factor ⋅ August 13, 2014

I'm looking for entries written somewhere else in a public blog - the backlink has a lot more value if it's on a totally different website.

Who's Laughing Now? August 14, 2014

There are ads on Prosebox? I didn't know that.

As for the "paid subscription option"... I'd definitely like to know more about that. Especially since I'm pretty damned broke now, and I don't want this place to end up like OD. Not all of us can afford to spend more money on things that really should be free.

Etoile Filante August 14, 2014

I would happily do this, and for free, but I am of the "don't want to advertise to people IRL" camp I'm afraid. I would up the security on my diary, but I'm enjoying having a public diary for the first time in a long time as I'm making new friends, not quite ready to give that up xXx

Jigger Etoile Filante ⋅ August 14, 2014

This exactly.

synapse August 14, 2014

Oh, I already have ad free prosebrox somehow? ;) How do you feel about that? Do you have something else to offer me?

I have mixed feelings. I am not sure I want PB to be SEO-optimized. Let me backup my writing easily and I will pay a small fee. Ads can burn and die in a fire for all that I care.

One Angry Dwarf synapse ⋅ August 14, 2014

You probably have AdBlock or something, yo. I do!

To see the ads, you have to manually turn it off. Which I did, just so the site gets some revenue from my usage. But yeah. I think a lot of people have adblock and forget it even exists because it's so effective they never have to think about it.

synapse One Angry Dwarf ⋅ August 14, 2014

Do you ever click on those ads? or buy anything? do the ads influence your money decisions at all?

banker chick August 14, 2014

Oh looks like you answered my question, guess I should have read further. Personally, I don't mind the ads so much. But I don't have a public blog either so I suppose it's a moot point. :)

One Angry Dwarf August 14, 2014

I'm doing some shifting around of entries from public to friends only, and when I'm done with that little dance, I'll be happy to give you a blogtacular shoutout. Not that anyone reads my damn blog, but it exists in search engines, SO.

Everything Good Rebecca August 14, 2014

I'm game, so look for an appropriate blog entry soon!

haredawg drools August 15, 2014

I understand the ads "read" cookies and are tailored to one's surfing habits. So, why is Prosebox trying to sell me Chaps? Oh. Nevermind.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.