Parents and More Business Stuff in Diary

  • Aug. 13, 2014, 6:06 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ongoing Tales from the Amy Saga

For some reason, Amy decided to move into the HR office without saying anything the last couple of days, leaving me to run the admin office on my own. Bizarre enough in itself. But then one of our senior management asked me to take minutes in a meeting on Monday. I apologised saying I wasn't at work, but I would ask Amy. So I asked Amy and her response was "No. I've already told Suzy (our boss) that I don't want to do this meeting when you leave, so I'm not going to do it."

Ummmm...what? This is your job, this is what they pay you to do. I don't want to sit here and listen to your stupid comments every day, but you don't get to pick and choose what you do! Unfortunately our boss is on holiday for two weeks so I can't even ask her about it. So I had to go back to our MD and apologise that there was no one to take the minutes, he would have to do it himself. Senior management shouldn't have to take their own meeting minutes! Ridiculous.

Only six more days with Amy...



Mam and dad came to visit last weekend. Friday was mam's birthday so I took her out for a pub lunch. Well, I was going to treat her, but as soon as she said what she wanted, dad ran to the bar to order, brandishing money. I ran after him and we had a scuffle at the bar, both trying to pay, lol. He won... I also bought her two pairs of earrings and a pair of smart boots for autumn, which she was delighted with as they fit perfectly and she said she's been looking for some nice boots for ages but couldn't find any that fit. Win.

On Friday night, we all went to the roller derby party (me, mam, dad and Jay), whereupon I won a raffle prize. It was a team branded tote bag which had team stickers, magnets, pocket mirror and team t-shirt inside. Excellent, I was very pleased with that :o) I can use the tote bag when I go leafleting at the weekend.

On Saturday, I took mam and dad to Dudley Zoo and castle. Jay didn't want to come; he was busy dying on the sofa as he'd had far too much to drink on Friday night, the fool.

I'd never been to Dudley Zoo before and I was very impressed. The enclosures are nice and big and made to be as natural as possible. The breeding programmes also look promising. For example, in five years they'd produced eight Sumatran tiger cubs, which is great news considering there are only 400 Sumatran tigers left in the whole world, with humans still destroying their habitat to grow palm oil. I could go on a giant rant about humans destroying the planet, but I'd be here all day.

Beautiful creature.

Mum, dad and baby giraffe. Baby has his head in the feeding trough but look at the big tufts on hair on his horns! How cute is that?

Mam and dad on the chair lift

Ring tailed lemur

Me with a ring tailed lemur, with matching clothes. I have no idea why I look so scared.

Dad with the ring tailed lemur.

Me and mam monkeying around.

This meerkat was sleeping like this!

World's smallest primate, with dad's finger for scale.

It was a good weekend, I'll be going up to visit them in two weeks. It was indeed strange not having Meg; every time dad went outside I thought he was taking Meg for a walk or letting her go to the toilet, then I remembered she wasn't there. It will be even more weird when I go to visit them, as that's Meg's home and she's always been there :o( I could tell they were struggling, mam kept crying and she said dad's been crying as well. He never cries; both of his parents and two brothers have died and no one ever saw him cry then. It's really hit him hard.



My friend Abi has offered to make me a promo video for my business. We went to Uni together and both did Media Production and she's decided to have a proper go at getting into the business, doing corporate videos. So she's making mine for free to add to her portfolio, and we both benefit :o)

It's a good job she wanted to interview some of my clients as it flagged an issue I had no idea about. Here's an abridged text conversation I had.

Me: Hi, would you mind doing a quick video interview, it will be a weekend in September?
Her: I'd be happy to help, but I'm confused. You cancelled my friend's dogsit and told her you were travelling for the whole month of September.
Me: It must have been someone else, it definitely wasn't me, I'm not going travelling and no one's asked me to dogsit.
Her: You agreed to do it last time you house sat for me, she showed me the text you sent her cancelling it so she's found someone else to do it now.
Me: I remember agreeing and I've been waiting for her to get in touch with me but haven't heard anything. It definitely wasn't me.
Her: Oh sorry, I gave her the wrong Michelle's phone number, she isn't even a dog sitter!

ARGH! What? So both of these people having been sitting here annoyed with me, for agreeing to dog sit and then cancelling, when I was completely unaware I'd done anything wrong, and waiting for her to get in touch with details! But also, this other random Michelle she was texting; why didn't she think anything was amiss? A complete stranger asking her to look after her dog, and she just says "Sorry, I'm going travelling." Why didn't she say "I think you've got the wrong number."?

So I've missed out on a job now, and maybe a long term client; if she likes the other dog sitter she's got in now, she might stick with her in the future :o(

At least I know now that it's happened and managed to clear it up instead of them both thinking I'm useless and unreliable, which they have been!



I was supposed to be going to Alt-Fest with my sister this weekend, but since it got cancelled I now have a four day weekend. So I'm going to make the most of it and have a list of things to do for my business including posting leaflets through doors, sorting out my public liability insurance, applying for a criminal background check (to make my clients feel secure that I can prove I don't have a criminal record), applying to join NARP (National Association of Registered Petsitters), typing up some paperwork/ spreadsheets, coming up with procedures for new customers. Basically, a giant pile of things to do to get myself started :o)

I'm still really nervous about having a reduced income, but I figured, if I am quiet, I can spend more time doing things like online surveys, mystery shopping and other little things to top up my income.



11 working days remaining; almost into single figures!


Last updated August 17, 2014


puffin August 13, 2014

I'm gonna miss Amy tales!

Bomb Shell puffin ⋅ August 13, 2014

LoL, believe me, I won't! :op

~Twinkle~ August 13, 2014

Fab zoo pics :) x

Babe In Toyland August 13, 2014

When I went round yesterday, mam said that Syd has been keeping her company, he was someone to talk to seeing as Meg isn't there any more she said. :(

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ August 13, 2014

She said that's the main reason they wanted to keep him at her house. If they don't want the commitment of another dog, they should get a bird or something so she still has someone to talk to.

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ August 13, 2014

Maybe I'll try and convince her to get a female cockatiel! ;)

Camdengirl August 13, 2014

I actually settled down for a good laugh when I read the title on this... You should write a book about Amy's exploits. Not sure the MD didn't just go grab her and tell her to do her damn job though!

Bomb Shell Camdengirl ⋅ August 13, 2014

He's a nice guy and doesn't really mind; which is a shame in this situation, I would have loved for him to do that!

history of love August 13, 2014

If the management at your job is any good, I'm sure that these sorts of things won't be going un-noticed by those in charge...so it/she won't be your problem though, so yey! Great animal pictures, especially the tiger :)

Bomb Shell history of love ⋅ August 13, 2014

Yeah...the management is not so good. That's why we've had a massive glut of people leaving recently, but they don't seem to care. Yep, I only have 11 more working days there! :o)

Babe In Toyland August 13, 2014

We had those tiny monkeys at Blackpool Zoo. I once spent ages watching them watching a massive bumble bee walk along their window sill.

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ August 13, 2014

It probably looked like the size of a sheep to them!

Deleted user August 14, 2014

Wow I cant believe she got that mixed up!!! Thats awful.

And for Amy... Im glad you dont have to deal with her shit anymore!!!

Vee August 17, 2014

Lemurs are the best!
Ugh Amy sounds like a right pain, I'm so glad you won't have to deal with her any more.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.