G Duty in JabberWokie

  • June 3, 2023, 8:55 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

On duty again watching the kiddos. Mom and dad are out on a pontoon. It’s 8:30 p.m. I just got a text that they just got out of the water so I’m guessing they will be home in a bit. I have to get cracking in my house. I have a brother who I think is coming in a few days to recuperate at my house. He is going to have hip surgery on Monday in Colorado and has no where to go after that. I am not thrilled with him driving so soon after surgery. He said he will see if the hospital will get him into rehab for a week or so. I hope so. He was staying with a friend and his family– husband in wife almost 80 yrs old and the guy had a stroke and ended up in rehab and they don’t want their mother to take care of my brother and I can’t blame them for that. My brother has put off this surgery for far too long so that isn’t a good option other. Anywhoo that which doesn’t kill us makes us stronger. I hope it doesn’t kill him.

I wanted to be home today taking care of things, but since it was 90 degrees and I have no air, this was the better option, plus I’d rather see my beanos than clean and de-clutter the house anyways. I did bring my laundry with to stop at the laundromat afterward, but decided to do it here so that is getting done. I don’t usually have two large loads. I used to often do my laundry here, but I don’t like the new washer, doesn’t do as good of a job cleaning and also the well/drum is a big pit, I can’t reach all the way down. Two of my Grands climbed on it and helped to get them out of the washer and then sometimes I take a clothes hanger and try to hook with the curve. It’s a pain. So they will be done.

For some reason I lost 2.5 more lbs. Not complaining. I had not lost any for about 3 weeks so I thought I was done. I hope it keeps going. I’m not doing anything other than the usual soo.... I lost 8 lbs last year after leaving stressful job and then by Fall it was over, then I was sick, got the infection, landed in hospital and had surgery and I have lost the rest since this January (26 total so 18 lost since January). Yes, more please.

Speaking of surgery, I really want to walk better again. My left ankle/foot is full of rheumatoid Arthritis pathology and is painful. I also broke this ankle before and had surgery on it. I did get an Arizona brace and it does help for when I am doing housework or running a few errands to get a bit of longevity standing, but it’s no goood for going for walks and sets off my opposit knee hurting with stabbing pain. Can’t with with it. So I will have a consult. My most recent podiatrist stated he would not do the surgery because of the mess it is and would refer me to Rochester Mayo so I am going to take that referral and see if they think they can help. If they don’t have a good feeling that it will improve walking then I won’t do it. Any how, My right shoulder needs replacing and I just don’t know how long I can put this off. I do want to get back to work a couple days a week and it’s hard to do with probable surgeries. Kind of want to scream about it all. I would rather live my life on the healthy and active side like I used to. Grrrr. Enjoy your youth/health while you have it… I am still young though, it just my bones and cartilage that are aged. I have been enjoying not working the last week or two But I miss working all the time. I miss doing what I do. I miss interacting with coworkers and clients/patients.


Last updated June 04, 2023


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.